CWWC – #1

 

Hello all! I’m participating in Loren‘s Creating Worlds Writing Camp, or CWWC! I am SOOOOO excited because I missed out on the challenge last year. I’m on Team Keepers WHO WILL BE DOMINATE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Anyway, let’s get on with the post!

Loren, I used all three prompts in my story. 🙂

Here you go:

***

           Andrew smiled at me as we stepped into the light. We were here; the land of the Ferrymen. This is where we would carry out our mission and save the neighboring realms.

I wrapped my arms around him. “We made it.”

He wriggled from my grasp. “We’re here, Hazel. Now we must find the Ferrymen.”

#writing #prompt:

Blushing, I nodded. Andrew and I had finally completed our quest. Mirrors are passages to fantastic worlds, guarded by creatures called the Ferrymen. The Ferrymen would help us save and restore the realms in danger.

I never could tell how long we walked after that; I was too busy admiring the beauty and wildlife. We walked past beaches with glistening waves and warm sand, grasslands blowing in the cool breeze, jungles full of beautiful fragrant flowers and strange animals, until we came to a forest.

By this time the sun was setting in the horizon. We approached a forest of huge towering trees that made the Redwoods look like blades of grass. I craned my neck, trying to see through to the starry sky, but all I saw were branches and more branches with leaves and more leaves.

Andrew grabbed my hand and we took a step into the forest. He led me around trees and bushes, over streams, until we saw a light up ahead. I couldn’t tell where we were; the trek inside the forest seemed like a blur. But as we approached the light, I saw dark shapes amongst the branches.  I realized they were houses, connected by rope bridges.

Andrew turned to me. “The home of the Ferrymen,” he said.

I looked up and saw someone standing on the porch of a hut. “Who goes there?” came a voice.

“Simmiar, it is Andrew.” His voice was strong and powerful; I had never heard it like that before.

The person standing above us spoke again to Andrew, but I didn’t understand what he said. Andrew answered him in a language I didn’t know.

Soon, however, a ladder was lowered to us. I was nervous, for I’m terribly afraid of heights, but we scaled it with ease. At the top, we were greeted by three tall men. They looked like a mix between human, elf, and dwarf. They were tall and broad, with small eyes set far into their heads, and a huge nose. If they had mouths, they were buried in a sea of beard. They talked in a foreign language with Andrew, every so often glancing at me.

Finally, they nodded and motioned us inside the hut. I followed, refusing to look down at the ground below.

The hut was cozy, with a roaring fireplace, a stove and cupboards brimming with food, and a long, kitchen table with dozens of chairs. In the far corner of the room I saw ladder which I assumed led to the bedrooms. I yawned, wondering what time it was.

Three women were in the kitchen, busily preparing a feast that made Thanksgiving look like a snack. I saw many different kinds of cooked meat and fish, fruits and veggies of all kinds, cakes, cookies, pies, doughnuts, and dozens of other foods I didn’t recognize.

One man called to the women when we entered the hut. He motioned for us to sit, and we did. The food was placed before us, and I ate heartily; I didn’t realize how hungry I was.

When we were done eating, the men and Andrew began to talk. I breathed a sigh of relief, thankful that I could understand them. As they talked, I found myself getting drowsy. I tried to stay awake, to listen to their conversation, but I was too tired. I thought maybe some cool night air would clear my head.

I excused myself and went outside, ignoring how the other eyed me. I heard Andrew say, “She’ll be alright.”

When I was outside, I gulped in breaths of cool, refreshing air. I closed my eyes and the cold enveloped me, and strangely enough I found it refreshing.

Something rustled in the branches, and I snapped my eyes open a whirled around. When I saw what was perched in the branches, I froze. I wanted to scream and run back to the hut, but I didn’t dare move. Perched among the branches was a dragon. All I could see was the outline of its head and wings and its melancholy blue eyes.

I dared to take small, slow steps toward the hut, but then the dragon fixed it’s sad blue eyes on me.

“Where are you going?” Its voice was low and sad, as if it had seen too many painful things.

I honestly don’t know why I stopped. It was the perfect chance for me to run. But the way the dragon’s voice sounded saying a simple question; the sad, longing voice; it made me want to help it.

“Are you alright?” I asked.

It just kept staring at me, not making a sound. I didn’t know how long I stood there, watching the dragon, but soon I heard voices calling me back to the hut.

The dragon looked alarmed and said, “Quick, climb on my back.”

Without thinking, I obeyed the dragon’s orders. I climbed up on its back, squeezing my legs hard against its sides. Silently, it ascended through the treetops.

When we broke through the trees, and soared over fields and oceans, lakes and jungles. Soon we came upon and misty-enveloped glade where a sparkling waterfall ran from a towering mountain.

The dragon spread its wings, and flew through the waterfall. Inside a huge cave stretched around us, and to my surprise, I saw trees and plants growing. Through the middle of the cave was a stone bridge.

 :

We stopped at the bridge, and I hopped off of the dragon’s back. It lay comfortably down on the ground, with its wings tucked under and its tail curled contently.

“Please, read to me,” it said.

I looked, and saw at my right was a book. The cover was old and had no title, and when I opened the pages I saw they were yellowed. In the light of the moon, I began to read.

The story told about a young orphan girl with no family and no one to love her. She was a wonderful, sad person who wanted to make the world a little brighter. When she died, she was reincarnated as a dragon.

When I reached this part of the story, I abruptly glanced at the dragon. It motioned for me to go on. And so I kept reading until my eyelids closed and the pages disappeared.

***

“Quick, get up!”

I opened my eyes and rubbed the sleep out of them.

“Quickly now; they’re coming!”

When my vision cleared, I saw that I was asleep on a bed of moss, still inside the cave behind the waterfall. I looked up, and saw the dragon hovering; continuously flapping its wing to stay in the air. In the daylight, I saw its features more clearly. It was very much a small dragon, with emerald skin covered in dust and mud. I could tell it was female, with long jade wings and a head colored green and gold. The thing that alarmed me most was the dragon’s eyes. Instead of the sad pale blue ones, they were a dark gold, and looked terrified.

I jumped up. “What’s wrong?”

She shook her head. “Hop on my back!”

I did as she commanded, and we flew out of the waterfall and back to the forest where the Ferrymen were.
She landed and I hopped off. “What’s wrong?” I asked again.

“I’m so stupid, bringing you this close to them,” she replied, “but this is the closest portal back to your world.”

“What?” I gasped.

“Quick! Follow me!”

We ran past the deserted huts of the Ferrymen and deep into the forest. Once again, the run was merely a blur. The dragon stopped. In front of us, hovering in the air, was a tall glass mirror. I remembered that the Ferrymen guarded the mirrors, keeping them safe from the enemy.

The dragon looked at me. “Touch the mirror.”

“What?”
“Touch it. As soon as you touch it you’ll return to your world.” The dragon replied.

“What about Andrew and the Ferrymen?”

She sighed. “The Ferrymen are evil monsters. They have been looking for you ever since you were born. Andrew is their recruit; he brought you to them for them to kill.”

I stumbled. “No…you’re lying. Andrew would never hurt me…”

She just looked at me, and I knew she wasn’t lying.

Rustles and shouts came from behind us, and I saw the Ferrymen, led by Andrew, coming toward us. They were armed with swords and bows and were running toward us.

“Quick!” came the dragon’s cry. “Touch the mirror!”

My heart was throbbing as I reached out to touch the mirror. As my hand reached it, I looked back, and my eyes locked with Andrew’s. Then I felt myself melt away.

I opened my eyes and found myself back in my home city. Turning around, I saw the mirror hovering against a skyscraper. As I looked into the mirror I saw the world I had just left. The dragon was roaring and blowing fire at the Ferrymen, who were trying to fight their way to the mirror. Although the dragon was fighting hard, I knew she wouldn’t make it. And I was right. Andrew shot an arrow, which flew through the air and pierced the dragon’s skin. She gasped and fell to the ground in a limp heap. I closed my eyes and cried.

Everything after that was a blur. I remember frantically looking around, searching for something to break the mirror. I reached into my pocket and opened the knife which Andrew had given me at the start of our quest. Running to the mirror, I pierced the mirror right in the center, but not before meeting Andrew’s gaze. Then the mirror shattered, each shard of glass crashing to the concrete.

 :

Then I too collapsed. My eyes stung with tears. I was scraped and cut from the glass, but that didn’t hurt any worse than my broken heart.

***

*sniffles* Wow…this is long…and sad…*sniffles*

You all are probably tired of my sad stories, huh? I’ll try my best to write some happier ones. Nevertheless, I hoped you liked the story, even though it was super long.

By for now!

14 thoughts on “CWWC – #1

  1. Oohh… so sad. So good. 😦 🙂 Amazing!

    THE KEEPERS HAVE TOTALLY GOT THIS. ELVES RULE. Besides, who else has an alicorn, mind powers, AND a dinosaur? 😄

    -Clara ❤

    Liked by 1 person

Talk to Me!

