CWWC Finale

Hello everyone! Today I have the *sniffs* last *wipes tear* challenge of CWWC! *sobs*

This challenge has been SOOOO fun, Loren! I’m SOOOO glad I could participate this year. 😀

THIS PROMPT

THIS PROMPT

THIS PROMPT

THIS PROMPT

THIS PROMPT

THIS PROMPT

THIS PROMPT

THIS PROMPT

THIS PROMPT

THIS PROMPT

THIS PROMPT

THIS PROMPT

THIS PROMPT

THIS PROMPT

THIS PROMPT

THIS PROMPT

THIS PROMPT

 

I leaned over the edge of the roof and inhaled deeply. The air was fresher up here, the moon and stars seemed brighter, and I felt free. I felt as if I had no problems; no troubles at all. But I knew that wasn’t the case.

The lake behind our house stretched out wide below me, the water mirroring the trees and forest that surrounded it. I had many fond memories of that lake. My sister and I loved to splash in its sparkling waters, soaking ourselves to the bone. Cassandra, with her flowing blond hair and dazzling blue eyes that shone like the blue butterflies we loved to catch, was the best sister I could ever have. But my father had taken her away, as he had everything else that was dear to me.

My father, a Ferryman, spent his time locked away in his room, surrounded by glistening mirrors and colorful bottles stacked from floor to ceiling. Even though he never saw us, somehow, he seemed to make our lives miserable.

My brother, Logan, hated him. He spent all his time plotting revenge on our father. He wanted to show him how much sorrow he had caused. It was true; my father had taken nearly everything from me. But I loved him all the same. I couldn’t bear to see Logan execute his revenge.

Every night, I would come to the top of the roof and try to escape my problems. But something about this night felt different; I couldn’t stop thinking about my father.

“You’re thinking about him, aren’t you?” Logan’s voice was cold and his skinny figure was tense beside me.

“Yes.”

“I don’t see how you still love him,” he said.

I glared at him. “I don’t see how you can hate him so much.”

Logan grabbed my hand. “Well, he’s gone now. Maybe we can forget our past.”

Missing. Our father was missing. And I seemed like the only one who cared. I wasn’t ready to forget our past. It was like a huge box sealed shut; we were unable to hide or forget it.

I turned to Logan. “I’m going to find him and bring him back.”

“I can’t help you.”

“I know. But maybe, somehow I can help you.” I wrapped my arms around him and squeezed tight. “I love you, Logan.”

He stroked my hair. “Be careful, Lucy. I can’t lose you too.”

***

Missing.

The word echoed in my head over and over. Missing.

The word’s not safe anymore. We cower inside a border of protection, terrified to step outside of it. No one ever comes back if they stray past the border; what lies beyond is unknown. My father had strayed past the border, and now he was missing. But I was determined that we would be the first to survive in the perilous forest marked, Here Be Faeries.

I have heard whispers about the ghostly creatures that haunt the forest, but no one knows for sure what they look like. All I know is that they hunt us cunningly, bravely, and boldly, without relent, and preys on those who stumble into their grasp.

My sister use to tell me that not all haunted places are houses. I never believed her until now. I saw the truth in her words. Our world was haunted by the creatures who hunt us, and I was haunted by my broken past.

The word needs a hero; Logan needs a hero; my father needs a hero; I need a hero.

Standing before the border, the forest marked Here Be Faeries, I lay a firm hand on my sword. I am ready to be the hero that the world needs.

***

There ya are! WE CAN DO THIS, KEEPERS! 😀

(I made a fun little photostory…I’d love for you to check it out! Click here)

What’s the weather like where you are? There’s a huge thunderstorm here. 😀

12 thoughts on “CWWC Finale

  1. Awesome writing!! 😀 WOO-HOO KEEPERS! Thanks for using lots of prompts, Grace! WE CAN DO THIS.
    The weather is nice and cloudy here. 🙂

    -Clara ❤

    Liked by 1 person

Talk to Me!

