Interview with Misty

Hello all! Today I have an interview with the awesomely amazing Misty!

Misty blogs at Creative World of Writing, a wonderful blog where Misty shares her journey as a writer with the world. 🙂

My questions are in bold, Misty’s answers are regular, and my comments are italicized.

Let’s begin!

  1. What got you started on your path to writing?

    I’ve always been a storyteller, and I’ve loved to read ever since I learned how. However, I don’t think I really began to write my own stories until I was around eight, when I got my dad’s old laptop. I soon became obsessed with writing short stories on Word, and I think that’s when it really began.

    That’s awesome, Misty! I definitely have a similar story. I was reading from the time I could sit up! 🙂

  2. Where do your ideas come from?

    I can get inspiration from just about anything! Usually, it’s in really random situations/places that the ideas begin to form…like when I should be working on schoolwork, or I’m daydreaming in the car. Sometimes a song lyric or a street sign will catch my eye. But I most often gain inspiration/ideas from nature, music, people, my journal, and–okay, I admit–Pinterest.

    Haha, I definitely agree about Pinterest! It’s awesome!

  3. How do you develop your plots?

    Outlines, outlines, and more outlines…some outlines are still in my head…hopefully I’ll get around to those soon. I know there’s such things as plot boards and other creative ways, but my boring old bullet-point outlines work best for me. I do a lot of research as well, so I often save helpful articles and information to my computer/iPhone notes. I’m not the most organized person when it comes to plotting, as I have bullet points and ideas scattered all over my journals and notes, but I always have my resources.

    I will definitely consider using outlines…plot developing is definitely a hard part in writing for me, but I’m working on it. 🙂

  4. What story are you currently working on?

    My most important and top priority writing project at the moment is my NaNoWriMo 2015 novel, Shadows. My goal is to revise and publish it this summer!

    OOH! I will TOTALLY buy your novel!

  5. What is the best and the hardest part of writing?

    Hmm…that’s tough. I would say the best part is being able to express myself in such an effective way and being able to connect words to convey almost anything. It’s extraordinary. Nevertheless, it’s a God-given gift, and I strive to give Him all the glory. The hardest part of writing, in my own personal opinion, is editing my own work. While I do think of it as a future career path to be an editor and I love to edit other writers’ work, I am awful at editing my own. There’s something about reading my own work over and over again that’s trivial to me, even though I know it’s necessary if I ever want to be published.

    I totally agree.

  6. What is your favorite genre to write?

    Dystopian! I love to write dystopian. I honestly don’t know why, but most of my writings somehow take a dystopian turn on their own, even if it isn’t my intention.

    Me too! I’m pretty new to dystopian, and I’m discovering I really like it!

  7. Do you plan on writing being a career path?

    I certainly do!

    😀

  8. Do you have any tips for amateur writers?

    My number one tip is don’t give up. Yes, writing is hard. But trust me, it will be worth it in the end if you put your very best into it. You have amazing, God-given potential! However, if you feel it isn’t God’s plan for you to take on writing as a hardcore career path, that’s okay too. It’s an enjoyable hobby, and I’ve found that writing often reduces stress and helps you think clearly. As for that novel you’re determined to publish, yes, that may be a little stressful. But don’t give up! You have a voice, and I think writing is a spectacular way to make that voice heard.

    That’s wonderful! I agree wholeheartedly. 🙂

  9.  Do ideas come naturally to you or do you have to spend a lot of time developing them?

    That varies. Some of my ideas come naturally, but I look for others. Either way, my ideas always fade and die off if I don’t hook onto them and take time to develop them.

    I can definitely relate!

  10. Lastly, why do you write?

    There’s millions and millions of reasons why I write, and I could ramble on and on about it, but the most significant reason why I write is because I feel it is God’s calling and God’s purpose for me to be a writer.

    YES! 😀

    Misty, I’m so glad I’ve gotten to know you over the past few months…you inspire me a great deal. Thank you for doing this interview with me!

    It’s the last day to vote for the names for TM #55!

17 thoughts on “Interview with Misty

  1. This was an awesome interview, Grace and Misty! 🙂 I loved reading the answers and you had great questions, Grace! 🙂
    -Emma-

    Liked by 2 people

  2. I loved this interview!! It’s as if she knows my heart!! Being a writer is hard work, whew! But if you persevere, you will find that you can do anything.

    I spent my entire life telling myself that I couldn’t write books, that it wasn’t a realistic career, so I went off to university, and landed myself in a career that I hated instead. Duh!

    Guess where I am now? Back writing the books I should have just written in the first place. 🙂

    ginnie / http://www.fakingitmostly.com

    Liked by 2 people

  3. This post made me smile. 🙂 Thank you for letting me do an interview, Grace! I really enjoyed answering your questions, and hearing that I’ve inspired someone always really makes my day. ❤
    By the way, I love your sign-off!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Misty, I love how you aid you’d been really ‘writing’ since you got your dad’s laptop. For me, what started it was my mom’s old file cabinet and desk when I was six. I wrote on construction paper. I still have my first manuscript.

    Liked by 1 person

Talk to Me!

