In Which I Share an Excerpt of My WIP

Hello everyone! Today I –

Seriously…who cares about introductions? I’M GONNA SHARE MY WIP!

Ahem.

Now, a few of you are familiar with my current WIP – Shadowland. The rest of you, probably not so much. I’mΒ not too open about the stories I plan on publishing since I don’t want my writing/ideas to be copied. But I thought it would be fun to share a synopsis, excerpt, etc. of my current WIP. πŸ™‚

Let’s begin, shall we? πŸ˜‰

Here is my current synopsis:

All that Nessa can remember are the shadows that have engulfed her home. Society is crowded into a dark, crumbling city with little food, water, or hope left. Soldiers patrol the streets day and night, keeping a close watch on those that live there. No one is safe, and with the threat of war on the horizon, the civilians are worried and restless. With a dying sister to care for and a brother who offers no help, Nessa decides to take matters into her own hands. She is ready to do whatever it takes to save her sister and restore prosperity – even if she must start a war to do so.


Do you like the sound of it? The synopsis isn’t the best I’ve come up with, but it’s my current one for now and prone to change. πŸ™‚

And I can’t end this post without an excerpt, non? πŸ˜‰

(I edited it slightly, so it’s not going to be the best, but I still hope you enjoy. πŸ™‚ )


When Nessa awoke, the sky was tinted gray from the coming dawn. She yawned and sat up. The fire had reduced to a fewΒ coals and she shivered in the morning chill. After eating the rest of her food and taking a few more sips of water, she stood, her backpack slung over her shoulders.

Using her compass as a guide, she headed due north through the trees, marking them as she went. She gathered supplies for a shelter and began to build a small lean-toΒ from wood, leaves, long grasses, and pine needles. She wove the branches and grasses together, combining them with scraps of logs until she had made a small shelter. Spreading leaves and pine needles across the shelter’s floor, she crawled into it and collapsedΒ onto it.

Low thunder rolled in the distance and a cool wind blew between the trees, exposing the white undersides of their leaves. The airΒ smelled of coming rain.Β Nessa built another small fire and sat back against a tree, closing her eyes. Hunger surged through her and her head ached, but she fought down both. When the first few raindrops had begun to fall, she retrieved her backpack and ate half of another energy bar. She had to force herself to put the food away, lest she it all.

When the sun had slipped behind the horizon and left the forest blanketed in shadows, Nessa crawled into her shelter and fell asleep.Β When she awoke the next morning, her temples pounded and her head ached. She groaned, dragging herself from the shelter and out into the open. Bleary eyed, she ate a bit of dried fruit and berries from nearby, washing them down with the last of one of her bottles of water. She had three energy bars and four bottles of water left, along with two packets of poorly seasoned jerky.Β Despite the doubts echoing in her mind, she felt confident. Proving herself to the rebellion felt stupid and a waste of valuable time. But if proving her worth would gain her respect and trust, she was prepared to do so.

Nessa rose, retrieved her backpack and began to explore the forest. She walked throughout the trees, keeping a careful on her campsite. The thought of turning back to return to her campsite nagged in her mind, but she shook her head and pushed it out of her mind.

To her surprise, the trees ahead had begun to thin. She could see a small grassy meadow clear of trees. An even smaller pond was in the middle of the field, its water still and glassy. She plopped onto the ground beside it and began to eat what remained of her food. She tried to eat it sparingly, but her hunger was too fierce. Soon sheΒ found herself with no more food her pouch, save for a few small strips of jerky.

Nessa mentally slapped herself. Her foolishness had finally dawned on her. She was far away from her campsite no marked trail of any idea of where she was going. Her food supplies were nearly empty and she had little water left.Β She rose, tucking the remains of her food and water into her backpack and turned back toward the forest.

From somewhere behind her she heard rustling in the trees. She turned and spotted three men emerge from the trees, guns in their hands. She froze, unsure whether to fight or flee. But before she had time to decide, one of the men pointed a gun straight at her and fired.


What do you think? IΒ still have a ton of editing to do and I need to figure out how the paragraphs are going to be, but I hope you enjoyed. πŸ™‚

Do you like the sound of Shadowland?

I’m running for President of the Blogging World! Click HERE to learn more!

41 thoughts on “In Which I Share an Excerpt of My WIP

  1. Ooh!! That sounds really interesting, Grace!! But, my friend…. How COULD YOU END THERE?!!?! *cries* XD
    And I know what you mean – I feel uneasy sharing much about my WIP, for fear of being copied. But, today I’m actually gonna be posting my book blurb that I wrote last night! I feel like it’s time my readers knew a bit of what my book is about πŸ˜‰
    ~Jaclynn~

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Oh my gosh! That excerpt was so good! I loved it! I guess Nessa dies at the very beginning of the book…. LOLOL! JK! Maybe it’s a tranquilizer dart…or maybe she has a metal forehead to stop any bullets! LOL! XD I’m a bit crazy today… Awesome story, and I can’t wait to hear more about it! I also love your book blurb! πŸ˜€
    -Emma-

    Liked by 2 people

  3. WHY. WHY MUST YOU END IT THERE. THAT WAS NOT NICE. NOT NICE AT ALL.
    Haha, just kidding. πŸ˜‰ This was just…amazing. It flowed nicely, and I could see everything vividly in my head…ahhhhh!! I CANNOT WAIT FOR THIS.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I love this! Because I’ve always had a passion for stories with wild survival πŸ™‚ I also thought you could maybe add more detail and lengthen it…but really all I want to know is WHO FIRED AT NESSA??? THE EVIL THING!!!

    Liked by 1 person

Talk to Me!

