Camp Dolliwatha Week Six: The Dreaded Dance Recital (Part One)

Could that title get any longer? 😉

Anyhow, welcome back to camp! I hope you all have enjoyed my crafts. 🙂

Today I bring you a dance-themed photostory to enjoy!


A ray of morning sunlight streamed into my bedroom, arousing me from a restless sleep. This was it. The big day was here.

I rubbed the sleep from my eyes and forced myself to get out of bed. In a haste, a made my bed, changed into a leotard, and left to practice my solo.

When I reached the studio, I plopped my bag onto the ground and began to stretch my sore muscles. After I had done a few simple exercises, I practiced my solo.

Counting the music in my head, I twirled and stepped in time. My movements were nearly flawless, but something was off. I got off on the timing of the music and, trying to get back in time, forgot some of the steps. I tried to shake off my misstep, but the rest of my dance was stiff. By the time I finished, I was in tears.

I plopped on the ground and closed my eyes to fight the tears. No matter how hard I tried, I could never get the movements right. I knew the dance frontwards and backwards, but something always was off. The smallest misstep or even getting a beat off the music threw me off, and I could never seem to recover.

I began the dance again – only to mess up– and by my third attempt, I felt utterly hopeless. What was happening to me? I was the best dancer in class, and I couldn’t even do a simple combination?

I shook my head and stood to try again, only to be interrupted by a noise from behind.

“Saige, are you OK?” Nicole was lingering sheepishly by the studio wall.

I bent my head and shook it. “I just can’t do it, Nicole. I’m such a failure.”

Nicole hugged me. “Don’t say that. You’re an awesome dancer, Saige. I know you can do it.”

I shook my head and didn’t reply.

Nicole smiled, took my hand, and we left.

***

 The rest of my day was spent practicing, failing, and worrying about my performance. Each time I rehearsed, the more discouraged I felt. I was certain I was going to make a fool out of myself.

Even though I knew I should keep practicing, Lissie convinced me to go outside with her.

“You need to relax,” she had said. “Some time out of doors is perfect.”

***

When we got back, the dread had changed to terror, and I found myself unable to move or think. I was terribly afraid.

I took several deep breaths and began the task of getting ready. Once I had dressed and packed my dance bag, I scanning my room for anything else I might need.

As I made my way out the door, I spotted a piece of paper lying on the table.

I smiled. It read: Break a Leg!

I tucked it into my dance bag and headed out the door.

***

When I reached the theatre, I busied myself by doing my hair a makeup and changing into my costume. I tried not to think about my solo, but it was hard. I sat in agony until it was finally time to go backstage.

All too soon I heard my queue and it was my time to go onstage.


Poor Saige. 😦 Come back tomorrow for Part 2!

For today’s activity, set up a scene of a dance recital or competition and take photos of it. If you want, try to include all of my crafts in the photos.

Email Loren up to three pictures to happyhouseofag@gmail.com . She will include the photos in the weekly Camp Dolliwatha recap on Saturday!

22 thoughts on “Camp Dolliwatha Week Six: The Dreaded Dance Recital (Part One)

Talk to Me!

