My Writing Camp!

Hello, my readers! I am extremely excited to announce…

tiwcposter

Think to Ink Writing Camp!

There have been so many amazing writing camps going on lately, and I decided to host one of my own!

I AM SO EXCITED!!! AHH!!!

What is TIWC? How does it work?

Think to Ink Writing Camp (TIWC) is an online writing camp hosted right here on The Girl Upstairs! It lasts the whole month of September.

Every two to four days, I’ll post three writing prompts here on my blog. You will write a story based on the prompts and post it on your blog. (If you don’t have a blog, keep reading!)

You can write a long or short story, a poem, or whatever you prefer!

What’s the goal?

To become a better writer, to stretch your imagination, and to have fun! Of course, you also want to help your team win, but the more important thing is to have fun and to become a better writer.

What if I don’t have a blog?

Don’t sweat! You can participate even if you don’t have a blog. Each time I post a challenge, I’ll include a contact form in my post. When you’re done with your story, copy and paste it into the contact form along with your name and email and click submit!

Regarding teams:

You can choose between two teams:

TeamPenTeamPencil

Team Quill.jpg

Each TIWC participant will be sorted into a team.

Regarding points:

Points are awarded for turning in your stories on time, using as many prompts as you can, and for the quality of your writing. At the end of TIWC, the team with the most points wins!

A few rules:

Please keep your stories clean and free of the following: witchcraft, dark magic, inappropriate content & language, and too much gore.

Ready to sign up?

It’s super easy!

  1. Comment below with your name (real or fake) and your blog URL.
  2. Tell me your top two choices for you teams – Pen, Quill, or Pencil. I can’t guarantee to get your on your preferred team, but I should be able to get you on your second choice.
  3. If you don’t have a blog, comment with you name and preferred teams, and let me know you don’t have a blog.

That’s all! I’m very excited, and hope a lot of people sign up! 😀

I’d really appreciate it if you spread the word and tell your friends. Thank you! 🙂

127 thoughts on “My Writing Camp!

  1. Yay! I’m definitely signing up! 😀
    Okay, my name is Lily, my blog is livingbychapters.wordpress.com, and I’d like to be on Team Quill or Team Pencil. 🙂
    I was wondering, can the story be dystopian?

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Woo hoo!!! I have been soooooooooooooooooooo excited for this!

    My name is Grace. My blog: gracesworld1.wordpress.com

    I’d like to be either on team Pencil or Team Quill please. 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

  3. Ugh.. I really want to enter!! But school starts back tomorrow and I don’t feel comfortable committing to this. 😥 I’ll spread the word on my blog, though! 🙂

    -Clara ❤

    Liked by 3 people

  4. Hi Grace! I would like to participate! This sounds awesomely set-up!
    Name: April McLauren (you do know my name by now, right? 😉 jk)
    Blog: April Dreams (aka the most amazingly awesome blog)
    Team Choice #1- Quill . There’s just something about them, ya know?
    Team Choice #2- Pen . Because I just got AMAZING Yoobi Gel Pens.
    And… I think that’s it! Yay! So excited!

    Just one quick question– what would you specify as “dark magic”, per se? And also, I;ve seen this request alot. I was just wondering why it is so important to you? (no judgement I promise)

    Liked by 2 people

  5. This writing camp sounds SO AWESOME, Grace. I’ve wanted to participate in one like this for a long time! I’ll have to make a decision on whether or not I’ll have enough time to do it, though. It’s not that I don’t feel like taking the time to participate in this writing camp, it’s just that I’m preaching and leading praise & worship in different churches across Florida for the next three weeks, and I’m honestly not sure if my schedule will allow for much writing time in between. What is the last day to sign up for this writing camp? Would it happen to be three weeks from now by any chance? 😛
    •Madi•

    Liked by 3 people

  6. Ooh, this looks like a fun writing contest! I appreciate that you added a point system for writing quality, because sometimes it seems like people just stuff all the prompts they can into one story without really caring about if the story makes sense or not. 😉
    So anyway, I’m signing up! 😀 😀 😀
    I’d like to be on Team Pencil or Team Pen, but actually I don’t really care – you can put me on whatever team you’d like. 🙂
    Thanks, Grace! ♥

    Liked by 3 people

  7. This looks like lots of fun! I’m not sure if I can do it though, just with school starting up soon and all. But, I definitely will think about it. When do you need to know by?

    Liked by 2 people

  8. Hey Grace,
    Your writing camp sounds really amazing! I also really wish that I could sign up, but right now I kind of have too much going on to participate. I’m so sorry that I can’t do it this time, but I hope it goes really well for you, and I’ll be looking forward to next time! 🙂
    ~Emily ❤

    Liked by 2 people

  9. Hey Grace! I’d like to participate! I don’t think I have a preference for which team. I have one favorite though, Team Pen. I will be posting my stories on my personal blog so only you’ll be able to read them. Is that alright?

    Thanks! I’m excited! 🙂

    With love and all joy,
    Allie D.
    http://www.alliesblogdesigns.blogspot.com
    http://www.friendlovesatalltimes.blogspot.com
    http://www.sincerelyallied.blogspot.com
    http://www.spreadingmyjoy.blogspot.com

    Liked by 2 people

  10. Reblogged this on Ebony Pages and commented:
    Hello everyone! So, things have been really busy around here for me, what with high-school, working on my ABroken Kind Of Perfect, and just life! So, unfortunately, I have to postpone the Blogger Election. I don’t know how long this will go on for. Anyway, I just wanted to tell you all that! But if I am your campaign manager, I can still help you with that. In the meantime, collect as many votes as possible! Now onto some super exciting news from grace at the girl upstairs!

    Liked by 3 people

  11. Hey grace! I reposted this, and would love to do it! My name is Allie Taylor, my blog is thedepthofmyfaith.wordpress.com, And I would like to be on team pen or team quil!

    Liked by 1 person

  12. Ok, so I think I should be able to do this! I may not be able to do ALL of the prompts though, just because I am so busy this month. I will do my best though.

    My name is Jade, I do not have a blog (yet). I would prefer Team Quill but Team Pencil is totally fine too.

    Thanks!

    Liked by 2 people

  13. Hi! My name is Tory,and my blog is americangirl-ify.blogspot.com. I’d like to be on either Team Pen, or Team Quill.(BTW, I’m kind of busy a lot, but I’ll try to write as many as I can!)

    Liked by 4 people

  14. After some hesitation, I’ve decided to sign up. 🙂 My hesitation is for a couple reasons. First, I don’t know how much time I will have, because I will be starting school, and I don’t want to be stressed. I’m also participating in two other writing camps, but I think they may be over soon. Will your camp be over the entire month of September? Also, how many days will be allowed to write each story? Sometimes I’m hurried, because if the deadline is in three days, and one is a Sunday, (which I don’t spend on the computer at all) then there aren’t many days to complete my story.
    In the end, however, I’ve decided to do it, because I know I’ll have fun with the prompts, and I want to keep writing, even though my book is mostly finished. 🙂 I don’t have a blog, and I think my preferred team is Pencil, and my second choice is Quill. I don’t really care, though. Thank you for hosting it!

    CutePolarBear

    Liked by 3 people

    • I understand completely, CutePolarBear! I’m glad you want to sign up!
      Yes, my camp will be throughout the entire month of September. With each challenge, you’ll be given three prompts – one word, one picture, and one character prompt. You can use previous prompts from other challenges but you won’t get any extra points. I want people to focus on writing – not stuffing in a bunch of points. You’ll be given 3-4 days to write your story. 🙂
      Thank you for signing up!
      ~Grace ❤

      Like

  15. Hey Grace!! 😀 YAY! I’m signing up! 😉 I’ll do Pencil Or pen! 😉 My first choice though is team Pencil! 😛 🙂 Obviously, my name is K.A, and my blog is burstsofinspiration.wordpress.com that’s the one I’ll be using! 🙂 This sounds super fun! 😀 I’m already doing two other writing camps, but they are both paused for a moment… anyway, I should be able to do this! 😛

    Liked by 1 person

Talk to Me!

