Beautiful Books #1

beautiful books

Hello everyone! Cait from Paper Fury is hosting Beautiful Books, a link-up in which you can share you NaNoWriMo novel with a bunch of other amazing writers! 😀 With NaNo on the way, I thought this would be super helpful and give me the opportunity to share my novel with y’all. 😉

My novel is currently titled These Stranger Tides. 🙂 It’s going to be part of a trilogy/series and I’m so excited for it! 😀

What inspired the idea for your novel, and how long have you had the idea?

The idea for These Stranger Tides came about when my family watched Star Wars: The Force Awakens (Best. Movie. Ever.) during a family movie night. I was thinking what it would be like to be left somewhere with no clue who you were or anything else about you and poof! 😉

Describe what your novel is about!

*covers ears* Noooo! Not this question! 😛

It’s about a young girl (Arden) who is marooned on an island with no idea of who is she or what her destiny is. When a mysterious stranger who is caught up in the conflict with the outside world, Arden finds herself faced with a chance to help – and to find out the truth about her past.

*winces* There…done. 😛

What is your book’s aesthetic? Use words or photos or whatever you like!

Here are some photos from my Pinterest storyboard:

St Kilda Scotland:

YES YES YES THIS IS PERFECT!!!:

 :

THIS IS PERFECT!!!:

Ooh, spoiler… 😉

YES! This look PERFECT!:

How could I work this in...?:

"The vision played over and over in my mind, the familiar words echoing in my thoughts. Who are you, Arden? Who are you?":

Introduce us to each of your characters!

I’m just getting started with characters, but I’ll share my MC and protagonist, Arden. 🙂

YES! I HAVE FOUND MY ARDEN!:

via Pinterest

Meet Arden, my MC and protagonist. She’s a fierce and headstrong girl around 15 who is marooned on a distant island far from any other land or humans. She is very strong, skilled in survival, and quick to learn, turning the island into a somewhat functional home. She is positive she has a family  and yearns to learn who she really is. And yet, she’s terrified of learning the truth; what if she isn’t who she thinks she is?

How do you prepare to write?

I’m about 90% Planner and 10% Pantser, so I spend a lot of time planning. I write down everything I know, figure out characters, world-build, plot, then write! 😀
(I’ll be doing an upcoming post about my game plan.)

What are you most looking forward to about this novel?

ALL OF IT! 😄

Ahem. But seriously, I’m excited for just about all of it. I feel really confident planning wise since for Camp NaNoWriMo I didn’t plan enough and I’m excited to get started. I’m especially excited for the end because there’s a major cliffhanger (These Stranger Tides is part of a series).

List 3 things about your novel’s setting.

#1: Arden’s Island (The Realm of the Outcast)

#2: The Realm of the Republic

#3: The Villain’s Lair (not sure where this is quite yet)

What’s your character’s goal and who (or what) stands in the way?

Arden’s primary goal is to survive and cope with living alone on the island. Memories and instincts stir inside her and she finds herself longing to discover who she really is and why she is on the island.

Her other goal is to find out who she is.She is lonely and feels abandoned, the only thing keeping her from breaking down being the fact that she believes that her family is coming for her. She refuses to believe any different yet faces the tough reality that they may not come back after all – that she may have no family in the first place and that she may be a dangerous criminal.

How does your protagonist change by the end of the novel?

Arden becomes braver and stronger and is ready to face the truth about her past.

What are your book’s themes? How do you want readers to feel when the story is over?

At the end of the first book I want the readers to yearn for more. I also want them to feel for Arden and desperately hope that she’s not someone dangerous or deadly. As for the end of the trilogy, I’m not so sure…

Well, there you have it! 😀 I’ll definitely be sharing some blurbs and more information as November approaches. (Eek! O_o )

Are you participating in NaNoWriMo?
What’s your novel about?

It’s my

Grace.jpg

Do you read my secret notes? Comment below! 😀

130 thoughts on “Beautiful Books #1

  1. Your novel sounds awesome! I’m not going to do NaNo, but I still want to do lots of novel planning this month and do a lot of writing in November. 🙂 My novel is . . . Hard to explain. Basically this medieval peasant girl gets taken away by her greedy landlord (well, she offers herself because he was trying to steal her six year old sister) and then . . . He tries to sell her (not so sure about that part yet . . . ) but anyways SOMEHOW she ends up in this convent place where she learns to read and love God and there’s this whole love triangle going on and I don’t know how I’m going to fit her past in and #whentheideasoundssomuchbetterwhenyouhaventwrittenitdownyet #idesperatelyneedtoplan

    #andyesidoredandloveyoursecretnotes
    #idareyoutocommentinonlyhashtags #evenbetterwriteashortsillypostinonlyhashtags #nowaitwriteasecretmessagewithhashtags

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Woooh! This sounds really interesting, Grace! I love adventure stories like this – it reminds me of Swiss Family Robinson, which I loved. Have you ever read that book? It also reminds me a little bit of Claire from Son (the last book in the Giver series). I JUST FINISHED READING THE SERIES AND I LOVE IT! Son might be my favorite. I know you’ve read The Giver, but have you read the whole series? Anway, I also love your pictures and I can’t wait to read your book!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you sooo much, Allison! I haven’t read The Swiss Family Robinson but I know the story pretty well and it’s really neat! 😀 I haven’t read the other Giver books but I reeeeaaaally want to! 😉
      Thanks again for your comment! I’ll definitely contact you for beta-reading! 😀

      Like

      • Yeah, Swiss Family Robinson is really good but kinda hard to read because it has a lot of old words. 🙂 Ooh, yeah! I didn’t really like the second Giver book, and the third was okay, but I loved the last one!
        Ooh, hooray! 😀

        Liked by 1 person

      • Pride and Prejudice was kinda like that too…I didn’t end up finishing it. :\ I’ll have to try Swiss Family Robinson sometime though! 😀
        The Giver is an awesome book! I’ll have to see if my dad’s library has it so I can read it. 🙂
        😉 😀

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Ooh, your novel sounds AWESOME! (Huge understatement 😉 ) And the plot is so totally epic. 😄 I’m not participating in NaNoWriMo, but I am writing a novel! I’m going to be doing some research for it today (watching movies about this certain part in it :P) while I rest… my mouth is super duper sore now. 0.o Ooh, and yes, I love reading your secret messages! 😄
    Hmm… what’s my novel about… this should be interesting. 😛 The name of it is Loyalty: Book I (still working on the tagline for Book I :P). It’s the first book in my trilogy series. It’s definitely action-and-adventure, and the cliffhangers… 😄
    It’s sort of hard to explain, so I’ll just post the un-official synopsis. 😛 It’s kind of long, but… 😛
    (The first part is in italics)

    My heart sank. What? I was grateful to be able to live, but swear loyalty to Tsunayoshi? What about my loyalty to Sensei Kira? And the dead serious oath I had taken?
    “What will it be, Xiang-Su?” Demanded the shogun.”Take a mere oath and live, or die a criminal?”
    My eyes swept from Hinoki to Tsunayoshi. I had to make a decision, and I had to make it fast. Who would I be loyal to?
    _________________________________________________
    Ari Xiang-Su, an intensively trained ninja living during the time of the Tokugawa shogunate in Japan, has to make some life-or-death decisions regarding her allegiance. It doesn’t help that her arch nemesis, a samurai warrior by the name of Hinoki Ajinomoto, continually surprises her with his questioning actions all the while she undertakes the most potentially fatal missions of her life. When allegations are made and trust is lost, Ari must once again prove her loyalty not to a single human being, but to her very faith.
    __________________________
    I’m so sorry that was so long! LOL! It sounds kind of lame on the surface, but it is my favorite thing I have ever written, and I get SO excited reading chapters I’ve already finished. I can’t wait until I publish it. Ari, the main character, actually isn’t Japanese, her parents came to Japan as… well, this comment is getting kind of long so I’ll just leave off here. 😉 LOL. 😛
    Once again, your novel sounds so amazing! When you’re finished, is there a way we are able to read it, or are you going to publish it and then we must buy it to read it?
    Good luck with NaNo!! 😀
    •Madison•

    Liked by 2 people

  4. No way. I think my comments are doing the exact same thing! I’m commenting from a different computer now… Ugh, I’m so sorry, do you think you can check your spam folder again? I think I’m just going to have to comment on others’ blogs from a different computer now. 😛

    Like

  5. Your book sounds really neat! 🙂 I am going to try NaNo this year for the first time, so we’ll see what happens….

    Oh, and I will start reading your secret messages from now on. 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Hi Grace! I hate to bug you, but… When you put a contact form on a post, when someone fills it out, does their comment go to your e-mail or does the “bell ring” in the top right corner of the screen?

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Are you kiddin’? I always read your secret notes! 😀 😄 haha! 😉 WOW! Your novel sounds like it will be SO COOL!!! EEEK!!! :O 😀 I have a summary of mine on my NaNo account now, so if you want to see what it’s about, you’ll have to go and see for yourself! 😛 😉 Haha!
    The thing is, this is the second book I’ve EVER written..I’ve written short stories..but that’s different- ya know!? And then my other book, was HORRIBLY written- and it was like 4 years ago, and I didn’t plan ANYTHING about it! And this one I know EVERYTHING about it- which might almost make it harder to write! So I’m TOTALLY freaking out about how I can possibly write it without making it a total flop- and then totally excited to start… :O

    Liked by 1 person

  8. This sounds absolutely AMAZING.😍 I love island stories and anything with mysterious marooned people is sooo captivating omg. I hope this is amazing to write BECAUSE IT SOUNDS LIKE SUCH AN AWESOME PREMISE. GO YOU!! (Also Arden is such a nice name!!)
    Thanks for joining in the linkup!

    Liked by 1 person

Talk to Me!

