Beautiful Books #2

beautiful books
Hey guys! Cait from Paper Fury is hosting Beautiful Books, a monthly link-up in which you can share you (NaNoWriMo) novel with a bunch of other amazing writers! I participated in last month’s link-up, and I’m doing it again this month! 😀

This month’s theme is basically a NaNoWriMo check-in/update – sort of similar to my NaNoWriMo Weekly Recaps. Shall we begin? 😉

 

Overall, how is your mental state, and how is your novel going?

My mental state is perfectly fine, thank you! ( XD ) I’ve heard (and seen) lots of people freaking out, but I’m actually pretty chill about it. My NaNo wordcount calendar helps a TON, though, so I can’t take all the credit. 😉

What’s your first sentence (or paragraph)?

Here ya are:

Before the sky had yet lightened or the birds had begun to warm up their shrill voices, I was awake.

There’s a few words in there that need taken out or re-written, but I don’t think it’s too bad! 😀

Who’s your current favorite character in your novel?

My MC and protagonist, Arden:

Arden.:

via Pinterest

GAH SHE’S SO PRETTY.

What do you love about your novel so far?

I love adding tons of details to my plot points, writing foreshadowing, and developing Troy’s personality. 😉

Have you made any hilarious typos or other mistakes?

Not really! I did spell Troy Tory during a word war and I don’t think I ever fixed it. 😛

What is your favorite to write: beginning, middle, or end — and why?

I haven’t gotten to the end yet, and not super into the middle. And I must admit, I haven’t really ended any of my stories. O_o 😛 But the ending seems the best in my mind,  so I think it’s going to be my favorite. We shall see…

What are your writing habits? Is there a specific snack you eat? Do you listen to music? What time of day do you write best? 

I like writing in the morning and evening best, I usually get more words done. I never purposely listen to music when I write…but usually Hamilton is one somewhere in the background. 😉

How private are you about your novel while you’re writing? Do you need a cheer squad or do you work alone (like, ahem, Batman)?

I’m definitely pretty private. I’ll update you guys and my Camp NaNo group on wordcounts and things, but I’m definitely very private. I’ll occasionally send a snippet to Bella, but that’s about it.

What keeps you writing even when it’s hard?

Word wars. Hands. Down. I’ve been warring with several girls from my Camp NaNoWriMo cabin, and it’s really helped me get through some tough spots.

What are your top 3 pieces of writing advice?

1. The challenge, demand satisfaction. Don’t look back – keep on writing and don’t worry about if it’s good or not. And GUYS. This is HARD. *whimpers* If you’re a perfectionist like me, it’s HARD. But following advice #3 can really help. 😉

2. Plan your day – make sure you know how your day or week is set out. And according to your plan, set aside some good writing time. For example: If you have dance class in the evening and are going to get home pretty late, then write nice and early in the morning.

3. Participate in word wars. A word war is basically where you set a timer and compete with someone to see how many words you can get in a certain amount of time. It’s fun, friendly competition and reeeeaaaaly forces you to write and not worry about mistakes.

That’s concludes edition 2 of Beautiful Books! Thanks for reading! *hands out donuts*

Before I sign off, what do you think of my new theme? Do you like it better, or do you prefer my old look? And what do you think about my new tagline?
Thanks s’much! 😀

How’s your NaNo novel coming?
Are you surviving?

My family made cinnamon-applesauce donuts with this amazing sugary glaze. *licks lips* 😛 XD 😉

66 thoughts on “Beautiful Books #2

  1. Ooh, this was really interesting to read, Grace! I can’t wait to read your novel! 😀 And I looove your MC’s looks! 😀 NaNo sounds pretty fun… maybe I’ll do it next year…

    And I think your theme is nice: it’s super clean and professional looking. 🙂 Some suggestions I have: I think it might be just a tad *too* clean… sort of empty, if you know what I mean? And it would be fun to add some sort of profile picture (it doesn’t have to be a real photograph of you, but maybe a drawing or something like Misty has?) to give more of a sense of your personality. Of course those are just suggestions and you *totally* don’t have to take them. 😉 Overall, I think your blog looks great! Keep it up, girl! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I loved reading this post! 😀
    I am definitely tempted to attempt to fix some stuff I wrote in my NaNo novel earlier on, because ONE OF MY MAIN CHARACTERS IS NOT COMING OUT THE WAY I WANT!! XD But I must refrain from editing… So, she may or may not have a random change in her mental state in the next chapter I write…Ha… XD
    -Emma-

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Ooh, you’re doing great! Hamilton is awesome writing music, although I usually start singing/harmonizing/rapping/dancing/reciting history along with it. And I love the new look of your blog– it looks really clean and nice!

    Mm. . . Cinnamon applesauce donuts . . . ❤️😂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Looks like your novel is going well!

    About your theme, I LOVE it! Some might say it’s too empty, but I really enjoy it. There’s enough space for people to navigate and breathe and it gives a nice friendly look to your blog. Though for you ‘ABOUT’ Widget you could add a picture, and you ‘Follow Me on Pinterest’ shouldn’t be that well, BIG 😀

    Your new tagline is awesome, love the consistency of fonts and everything! Though some of your archives could be put in a drop down! Love the header image, white background. Wow, you’ve done such a good job. I’m so impressed, seriously, WOW!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Oh! I like the name Arden! Very cool. I haven’t heard it before.
    I’m not taking part in NaNo this year, but I’ve been enjoying seeing what everyone else is doing.

    Liked by 1 person

Talk to Me!

