Keeping Things Balanced

There are so many things in life.

So much to see,

So much do,

So much to learn,

So much to pursue.

Family,

Friends,

Dolls,

Dead-ends;

Dancing,

Singing,

Laughing,

Crying;

Joy and sorrow,

The hope of tomorrow;


There is so much to life. So much to explore, so much to discover, and so much on our plates. School, blogging, writing, taking photos, spending time with friends and family, praying and devoting time to our walk with God.

How do we do it all? How do we keep things balanced? As much as we might like to sit and write or blog all day, we can’t, and it isn’t good for us. We lose all of the other wonderful things in life. But how, how do we keep things balanced?

It’s hard, and it’s sad sometimes. But the answer is sacrifice.

Some things aren’t as important as others, and some things get left behind. For example, every time someone posted or commented on my blog, I used to read it or respond right away. And that took time, time away from things I could be doing. But I still wanted to read blog posts and comment on others’ posts. So I decided to make one day a week my “Blogging Day,” where I would read others’ posts, respond to comments, and in the future, I want to schedule posts on that day too.

But reading blogs and responding to comments are a small part in all the things I do. I want to learn how to photo edit. I want to work on designing a family blog. I want to learn ballet stretches and do Yoga every day. I want to blog. I want to write. I want to dance. I want to take photos. I want to (and do) spend time with my family.

How do I balance it all? How do I plan things out? How do I budget my time?

I’ve decided on a couple of things blog-wise, which I want to share with you. I’ve already shared above about responding to comments/reading other posts, but there are some other things I’ve decided on.

For one, I’ve decided to make somewhat of a posting schedule. I’m going to be making 2 high-quality posts each week. They won’t have a specific theme, but I’ll still have a schedule to stick to. I’ve realized over the course of NaNoWriMo that cramming in 4 or 5 posts each week takes too much time, and reduces the post quality. Some of you might be gasping in horror, but this is something that I feel will help me budget time, and allow me to plan ahead and deliver quality posts. 🙂

Another thing that’s happening is updating and completing my blog design. As I have been blogging, I haven’t been completely happy with my design. I asked Megan to help design my blog, and I’m really excited for it! I’m so undecided on a theme, so if anyone has any themes they just looove, then please lmk! 😀

Things like bullet journal(l)ing or keeping planners are another way to help balance your time – sacrifice certainly isn’t the only answer! – and is definitely something I want to look in to. I’d like to start a bullet journal for 2017, but we’ll have to see.

For now, I’m taking baby steps, like making a simple posting schedule, making a homeschool-work chart, and having a small voice in my head that is always asking – “Should I be doing this? Is it eating away at my time?”


I hope you guys enjoyed this post! It’s a little different from usual, but I still hope you liked it. And if you guys have any feedback, post ideas, favorite themes, and tips for budgeting time, please drop me a comment! 😀

What are some things that are important to you?
How do you budget time?

Did anyone else enter Shannon Messenger’s Lodestar pre-order giveaway? I did, and my “swag” arrived a few days ago! 😀

41 thoughts on “Keeping Things Balanced

  1. This is so true, Grace! I should do something like this too. It IS hard to find balance, especially when there’s so much you want to do! I definitely understand what you mean, and your new schedule sounds good. Although I’m sad about the not-as-many-posts thing, I think that sounds like a great plan. ♥ I hope it works out for you!
    P. S. Your letter should be on its way tomorrow! Woop, woop!

    Liked by 2 people

  2. I hope your new schedule works! 😀 I can’t wait for your posts. You’re blog is, and always will be, one of my favorite blogs!
    I’m really happy you want me to help you with your blog design. ♥ I replied to you, but then I remembered I just replied to the contact form… Whoops! I’m gonna go re-send that email. 😉
    ♥Megan

    Liked by 3 people

  3. Very true, Grace! I hope everything works out for you!! I’m having to dramatically cut back on the time I spend commenting on others’ blogs and reading their posts, too. I’ve had to alter my schedule as well, and you’re right, it requires sacrifice. 😕 My parents had to help me make that move to change up my schedule because I’m not supposed to be living with the stress of an adult at 13. 😛

    Hoping your schedule will work out amazingly! Good luck with everything. You’re so awesome and I really admire you!

    •Madison•

    Liked by 2 people

  4. Good luck with the schedule! I don’t mind if you post twice a week. I look forward to seeing the posts you make! I totally understand!
    It’s funny, because I was reading this post thinking, “I should really be doing my science” XD Lol.
    I’m looking forward to seeing your blog design come along, too!
    ~Gracie

    Liked by 3 people

  5. Bullet journaling looks so awesome! I always feel regretful that I haven’t tried it, but I don’t think it’s something I’d be able to stick with. I might pick it up in a year or two and see how it goes. 🙂 As for themes, my personal favorites would be 2016 (because it’s very easy to customize to look unique), Nucleare (its description even says it’s great for personal blogging), and maybe Lovecraft for the same reason as 2016.

    I love the decisions you were able to make on this subject, Grace. I’m going to miss seeing your frequent posts, but I’m glad you’re taking action to better your own time budgeting skills. Designing a family blog sounds so fun and I wish that would work for my family, but my mom and dad aren’t the blogging type and my sister’ll be going off to college soon (#NOOOO) :(. Managing my piano studies, youth group responsibilities, and school workload is already a huge task for me, so I totally get what you’re saying — plus I feel like my mind has gotten a bit too centered on my blog and WordPress notifications. I really admire your taking the step to set these priorities — life can definitely get overwhelming. (PLUS HAMILTON IS SO DISTRACTING. I mean, it’s Hamilton . . . lol.)

    love, sarah ❤

    Liked by 3 people

  6. GOLD. (Eureka!) This is literally the best post I’ve read about managing my time/being productive in MY. ENTIRE. LIFE. I’ve tried to find websites about this that adults write, but this post is a gazillion times better than any of them.
    Ooh, you know about Bullet Journaling too? *high fives* I’m going to be starting one in 2917 as well! 😀

    Liked by 2 people

  7. YES,GRACE!!! I wish I could be an organised blogger like you because your blog and you are just # GOALS!!!
    LIFE does get busy so we completely understand. And quality,not quantity, right? I can’t wait for your posts so WOHOO!

    AND< BULLET JOURNALLING is life changing! Go for it, girl!

    OHH, Designing your blog, sounds SO FUN! And hey, I just set up a designing shop hosted on another blog, so I wouldn't mind a message concerning anything design-related :D. I wouldn't mind giving you some resources for awesome graphics, designing anything, coding blog buttons etc… 🙂
    https://lifeasshania.wordpress.com/blogger-mall/customdesign/
    Or you contact me via my blog's contact page!

    Grace, stay awesome will you? 😀

    Liked by 3 people

  8. I was so afraid for a minute there of whether or not you’re going to keep blogging. Grace, I love your amazing posts and I hope you NEVER stop blogging. I’m so very relieved you’ll still be posting your awesome posts. Thank you for being such a good blogging friend! ❤ ❤ ❤
    I'm looking forward to your, surely, most lovely quality posts! Thank you for them!
    Your blog is looking awesome, I'm loving it!
    KEEP UP YOUR AWESOME POSTS!!! ❤ ❤ ❤
    -Nemo ❤ ❤ ❤

    Liked by 2 people

  9. So true, Grace! I also think it’s better to just post a few good posts than try to post a lot of not-as-meaningful posts. 😉 Not to say that any of yours are like that- they’re all amazing! Keep up the great work! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

Talk to Me!

