Monthly Recap | November 2016

Hello everyone!Β It’s time for a monthly recap! If you’re new to these, or forget how they work (I didn’t do one last month due to NaNo), welcome! I’ll be sharing some highlights of the past month with y’all. πŸ™‚

I’ve been re-working the formatting of these types of posts, so not all of these text graphic names or order will be the same.Β If you have any suggestions or thingsΒ you’d like to see in these posts, leave a comment down below! πŸ˜€

This month has been crazy and awesome – all at the same time. IΒ participated in NaNoWriMo for the first time, and I had an amazing first experience! I’ll be making a NaNo recap to let y’all know how things went, but let me tell you that it was fabulous!Β 

My life was mainly focused on NaNo, but I also made time for a bit ofΒ photography and lots of reading. I was also kept busy with Nutcracker rehearsals; I’m a party child in Act I and a Candy Cane in Act II. πŸ™‚ Between NaNo, rehearsals, and day-to-day life, I’ve been kept busy. But I’ve still had an amazing month. πŸ™‚

Since I had NaNoWriMo this month, I didn’t write as many posts as usual. I used to freak out when I went for a few days without a post, but I’m beginning to see that it’s okay to go a few days without one. πŸ˜‰Β 

Lodestar Launches & NaNoWriMo Begins

A Trip to the Apple Orchard

Beautiful Books #2

Keeping Things Balanced

Best of 2016 Awards

The Thankful Tree

Best of 2016 – Voting

I’ll often read in spurts – I’ll read a ton for a while, then only a few books for a while. But I’m trying to keep my reading pretty consistent, and I’m succeeding!Β 

Lodestar by Shannon MessengerΒ Anne of Green Gables by L.M. MontgomeryΒ The Westing Game by Ellen RaskinΒ The Crossover by Kwame AlexanderΒ The Strange Case of Origami Yoda by Tom Angleberger

Anne of Avonlea by L.M. MontgomeryΒ Gathering Blue by Lois LowryΒ Messenger by Lois LowryΒ Son by Lois LowryΒ The Illuminated Dark by Phantas X Ula

{via Goodreads}

I read about 10 books this month. My favorites would have to be Lodestar. AGH GUYS IT WAS SO GOOD AND SO SAD LIKE AHH! *flails* *sniffs*Β 

I also enjoyed all 3 Giver books, and Anne of Green Gables.Β I also watched old 3-hour movie, and the new one. Heh heh…let’s just say the new movie is like the Sound of Music Live!, with Carrie Underwood. πŸ˜‰

Well, let me start by stating the obvious…NaNoWriMo! I undertook the challenge of writing 50K through the month of November, and I completed it! Actually, I completed my story at around 40K, so I instead wrote two prologues (the second was much better) and wrote some snippets from future books in my series.Β 

Overall, I had an amazing NaNo experience! I’ve discovered that wordcount calendars are very, very helpful. AND GUYS I’VE GOT MAHSELF A FIRST DRAFT!!! LIKE WHUTTT??? {It hasn’t even sunk in yet. XD } I’m going to be taking a break from writing for a while (still writing little things, of course), and just let myself recover. πŸ˜› And then it’s on to editing! O_o

  • Develop my blogging schedule
    As I said above and in this post, I’m working on developing and finalizing a blogging schedule. The post explains things a bit more, but I’d like to have one day devoted to blogging, where I plan posts, read other posts, and reply to comments. With NaNo, this hasn’t been put into play, but I’d like to work on it this month.
  • Learn to Bullet Journal
    I’m really drawn to bullet journaling, and I’m really excited to try it out! My dad has one, and once he helps me get it established, I’d like to use it for 2017.
  • Take a breakΒ from writing
    *gasp* WHAAA??? GRACE IS TAKING A BREAK?!?!? *can’t help from singing Hamilton*
    Yes, my friends, I’m going to be taking a break from writing. This doesn’t mean I’m going to stop writing altogether, of course. I’ll gather some prompts, revisit a writing book, and free write. But as for my novel, it’s going to stay nice and safe backed up in the four different places I have it. πŸ˜‰ When January rolls around, I’ll be busy editing and planning for NaNo 2017! πŸ˜€
  • Have a Merry Christmas
    Very cliche, I know. But I’d like to have a Jesus and others-centered Christmas, and be able to celebrate his birth.
  • Prepare and audition for Alice in Wonderland
    A theatre near by is doing Alice in Wonderland, and I’m auditioning for Alice! Any prayers or well-wishes are appreciated. I’ll let y’all know how things go! πŸ˜€
  • Enjoy the rollercoaster of life!Β 
    I’m not sure all that life will have in store this December, but I’m very excited to see what will come my way!
     

Did you have a good November? How did NaNo go forΒ you?

Are you looking forward to the holiday season?Β 

Lastly, did you enjoy this post? Did you like the formatting andΒ such?

 

 

86 thoughts on “Monthly Recap | November 2016

  1. I DID enjoy this post, Grace! I love that brush-calligraphy font thingy you did for the headings. πŸ™‚ Not to mention this was just an great, interesting post in general! Aww, I’m so glad you liked my posts! (And of course I couldn’t have done the mandala one without you. πŸ˜‰ ) I AM really looking forward to the holiday season! We’re getting our Christmas tree tomorrow which I’m really excited about! Eep! πŸ˜€

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Aw, thank you SO much for mentioning me! πŸ˜€ Hehehe… Being evil comes naturally, I suppose. XD Ooh, you introduced me to a post I hadn’t seen before! I love blogging recaps like this!

    Now for the questions (I love answering questions) XD

    β€’Did you have a good November? How did NaNo go for you?
    I had a phenomenal November! XD (And oh my gosh, congratulations on winning NaNo! I really admire your dedication! You did fantabulous!) I kind of did my own experimental NaNo thing and tried writing a certain amount of words in a certain amount of time to get a feel of what NaNo might be like. (I also stalked up on chocolate. πŸ˜‰ ) I did pretty awful, though, haha… I think I only wrote about 6-10k for my novel (November is my blogging anniversary and it’s always crazy busy, plus I traveled πŸ˜› ) so I have a feeling I would get totally creamed in NaNoWriMo for real. XD I have exceeded 83k, though, so I’m not too disappointed about not writing as much as I wanted to. I’m just finishing up the last bits of the plot for my first draft.
    As for editing, I can’t WAIT to get started! I typically like making everything perfect as I go and then doing one last proofread after I finish writing the last word. It’s torture to make myself wait until the first draft is completed. I’m a perfectionist, and I LOVE EDITING! XD

    Ahem. That was longer than intended. πŸ˜‰ But this is fun! XD Onto #2.

    β€’Are you looking forward to the holiday season?
    Is that even a question? XD OH YEAH! I am super duper excited. Times a trillion. XD Christmas, cocoa, and candy canes, here I come! And of course, saying happy birthday to Jesus and giving money to our Christmas party for our orphans in Peru. ❀

    β€’Lastly, did you enjoy this post? Did you like the formatting and such?
    As you can see from my very long comment, YES! XD I love how it's formatted and organized. It was super interesting to read about what you did in November and what your goals are for December. I also loved seeing what neat posts you've read this month and you even introduced me to a new one! (Thanks so much for mentioning mine, by the way! πŸ˜€ I was really excited to get the pingback in my notifications! πŸ˜€ ) I also loved the questions at the end (as you can see, talking is one of my favorite sports XD).

    Oh, and you are going to do PHENOMENAL as Alice! (Of course you're going to land the roll. You're too awesome not to, so just plan on taking the cake as Alice! XD ) I'm praying that the audition and performance goes spectacular! (There's no doubt in my mind that it will, though πŸ˜€ ).

    β€’Madisonβ€’
    P.S. Alright, Autocorrect. Don't embarrass me. *proofreads comment*

    Liked by 2 people

  3. CONGRATS ON WINNING NANO!!! And can I say how much I adore your sign-off? It’s so simple but beautiful. I had an amazing November for the most part, thank you very much for asking! I did finish NaNo too, but I did the young writer’s program (lack of time) and I was so glad I didn’t undertake the full 50K, because I barely made it on 30K. XP I’m really excited for the holidays! It means pretty lights and all that fun stuff.

    Good luck in your Nutcracker performance! I’m really considering trying ballet, so do you have any opinions on that?

    Liked by 1 person

    • THANK YOU! πŸ˜€ Aww, I’m so glad you like it!
      That’s awesome! Wow, that’s still quite a lot of words! I’m super excited, too. πŸ™‚
      Thank you! Oh, I definitely recommend ballet! It’s so good for you, and whether you do it just for fun or exercise, or are considering it for a career, it’s extremely good exercise and helps you in all sorts of ways, from muscles and joints to your brain and memory. It’s also a ton of fun! If you have any other questions, I’d be happy to answer them! πŸ˜€

      Like

      • Thank you for answering my first question! But i have another quick one. Is ballet competetive? Like, is that the primary focus. Because in Irish dance its all about competition but i prefer something more performance oriented. Also, do you do any other styles of dance? Because im looking at a variety of different styles. πŸ™‚
        Thanks for answering my questions!!

        Liked by 1 person

      • No problem! Many styles of dance can be competitive, but it depends on the school. A school that mainly focuses on classical ballet, with maybe some other styles (like my school) aren’t very competitive. It mainly depends on the school. Look at the schools in your area, look on their website, etc., and talk to some people who go there.
        Hope that helps! πŸ˜€

        Like

  4. Grace, I look forward to reading your posts so much! I just thought I’d mention because I actually ENJOY reading your posts because for mosts blogs I read, I like them but I WAIT for your posts. That wasn’t supposed to sound creepy at all, but I just wanted to let you know how wonderful your writing is!
    Beside the point, this monthly recap was exciting!! Good luck on your adition for Alice, you’d make a great one, I just know it!
    Oooh, exciting posts, I love this style of re-cap and those GRAPHICS, eeek! love your sign off and all the rest of this pretty stuff!
    AND CONGRATS ON NANO! Just Wow, I admire people like you, who can just write away. I would NEVER be able to pull of 40k let alone 50!!
    I am so excited for December, with everyone getting in the holiday cheer. November me was exciting. I’m launching a contest as a celebration for 400 follows (check it out on my blog!) and I’m participating @Teenella’s Blogging Secret Santa (IT IS SO exciting, check it out on my re-blogged post!), and I’m doing SO many collabs which are work in progress…. So December is a promising month!
    I loved how this post was formatted! It was AWESOME!!! Wow, Grace, impressive… Of COURSE I enjoyed this post, as always!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Aww, thank you, Mahriya! That means so much to me. πŸ™‚ ❀ πŸ™‚ I'm so happy that you enjoy my posts, and look forward to them! πŸ˜€ You don't know how happy that makes me. ❀
      December is looking like a wonderful month so far! That sounds really exciting, my friend! πŸ˜€ I hope you have a wonderful holiday. πŸ™‚
      Thank you again! I'm so glad you like everything! That means so much coming from you. πŸ™‚ ❀ πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Congratulations on the first draft!!! That is so awesome! I would probably feel just like you if I had done Nano: break time! XD .
    I am very excited for the holidays! It’s funny though, because December rolls in and it feels like everything is suddenly decked with Christmas, and I’m like, “Uh… we have a tree! An un-decorated tree….” XD LOL
    The best of luck for your audition for Alice! I hope you get the part!
    And yes, I did enjoy the post!
    ~Gracie

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Awe, thanks for mentioning my post, Grace! I’m glad you liked it! πŸ™‚
    And oh my gosh, how exciting that you’re auditioning for Alice!! I really hope you get the role! πŸ˜€
    Well, now, let me think… November for me was pretty good, I guess! I can think of many fun times I spent with my family and I had work in childcare which is AWESOME… My brother and sister in-law moved away at the end of the month and though it was hard to say goodbye, I’m glad that they’re settled down together and that they love their new home. πŸ™‚
    NaNoWriMo went GREAT! I totally didn’t think I would meet my goal, but I did and that just makes me SO happy! πŸ˜€
    And yes, I am absolutely looking forward to the holiday season! I can’t wait for Christmas and to decorate! πŸ˜€
    I should really start doing monthly recaps… I always love reading them and I feel like it’s a good way to remember what happened in the past month πŸ™‚
    ~Jaclynn~

    Liked by 1 person

    • You’re welcome, Jaclynn! And thanks for your lovely comment! πŸ˜€
      Thank you so much! I’m really nervous for it, but also super excited!
      Wow, your November sounds like an awesome one! I’m so glad your brother and sister-in-law are enjoying their new home. And CONGRATS on finishing NaNo, my friend! That’s a HUGE accomplishment! πŸ˜€
      Me too! Christmas is such a fun time of year. πŸ™‚
      Aw, I’m glad you like reading them! And I’d love to read some of yours! πŸ˜€

      Thanks again for your comment, Jaclynn! Your comments always make me smile. πŸ™‚

      Like

  7. I did enjoy reading this post! I do like the formatting. πŸ™‚
    Anyway, I did have a great November. I don’t do NaNoWriMo because I’m not a writer. πŸ˜‰
    I’m really excited for the Christmas season and everything that goes along with it. I’m looking forward to decorating our house, because that’s really fun.
    ~Christian Homeschooler

    Liked by 1 person

Talk to Me!

