In Which 2016 Comes to a Close | 2016 Blog Recap

2016 has been quite the year.

It has been full of ups, downs, happy times, and sad ones too. I’ve reached milestones, met new friends, experienced new things, and so much more.

Let’s take a look at 2016 and all its happenings…

This year has held so many ups, downs, surprises, twists, and turns. I’ve had high times and low, but overall, I had an amazing year.

Here are 16 Highlights of the Year:

1. Performing in Seussical Jr & Auditioning for a Play
I had an amazing time performing with my Seussical castmates at our local theater and at the nearby competition! I also had a blast auditioning for Alice in Wonderland, and getting cast as Tall Alice! 😀

2. Meeting New Friends (via the Blogosphere and the Real World)

3. Being Introduced to Hamilton
AHH HAMILTON!!! I’m HamilTrash and proud. XD

4. Gaining 100 Blog Followers

5. Participating in Blogging Contests, and Hosting One of My Own

6. Beta-reading Misty and Madi’s Novels
Can I just express how AMAZING (!!!) these girls’ novels were/are? They’re absolutely spectacular, and sure to become NYT’s Bestsellers. 🙂

7. Becoming a Pen Pal
I love my pen pals. ❤

8. Having my Blog Re-Designed
Thanks, Megan! 😀

9. Performing in The Nutcracker
I had an amazing time performing in The Nutcracker! It was a spectacular experience and I loved it. 🙂

10. Launching The Elven Realm of Writing
It’s a huge honor to blog with such amazing people! ❤

11. Designing Bella’s Blog

12. Running for Blogging President – and Winning!!!
It’s such an honor to run for blogging president and win! I greatly appreciate all of the amazing individuals who voted for me. 😘😘😘
(And in case you’re wondering, my Blogging 101 series is on the way! 😀 )

13. Participating in NaNoWriMo 
I had an amazing first NaNo experience this year, especially getting to have a write-in with Bella and Ashlynn. 🙂

14. Going on Vacation in the Mountains
I had an amazing, peaceful, and beautiful vacation at our family friend’s cabin in the mountains. 🙂

15. Celebrating Bella’s Birthday
I had a wonderful time geocaching and sleeping over with Bella, Ashlynn, and Harper! Love you guys. 😘

16. My baby sister being born
My new baby sister, nicknamed Bear, has been such a joy to our family. She’s chubby, cuddly, and altogether adorable. *heart eyes*

I have had so many amazing experiences this year. So many things have happened, good and bad alike. I thank God every day for the life He has blessed me with. ❤

So much has happened blog-wise this year. I moved my former Blogspot blog to WordPress. I gained over 100 followers. I participated in several camps and contests. I hosted one of my own. And I met countless amazing people. ♥

Here are some stats from this year:

Thank you so much for all of the follows, comments, and support you’ve given me. I love you guys. ♥ ♥ ♥

I was very active in “The Writing World” this year! 🙂 I participated in Camp NaNoWriMo, in which I wrote my first “real” novel, Shadowland. I have yet to actually finish that novel, but you know how it does. 😉 I did, however, write an entire novel for NaNoWriMo in November.

This year, I feel like I’ve really grown as a writer. Last year, I barely knew anything, I didn’t plan, and I had no real knowledge of how to write a story. Now, I plan my stories, commit myself to write them, and have really grown all together.

I greatly look forward to this coming year. My hopes are to edit my NaNo novel, re-work Shadowland, and write a short story that I’ve been thinking about for awhile. I also have some fun writing post ideas coming up in 2017. 😉

Overall, this year has been an amazing one. I’ve had so many accomplishments, participated in so many awesome things, met countless amazing people, and enjoyed the life that God has blessed me with.

I have some regrets, including not spending enough time with my family and spending more time blogging than being outside, but I’m learning and trying to make 2017 even better, and as free of these regrets as I can.

I’ve never been one for New Year’s Resolutions, since I usually never do them. 😛 But this year, I’d like to make some goals and resolutions for the New Year. 🙂

  • Finish (and use) my blog schedule
  • Learn to bullet journal
  • Spend less time blogging and more time with my family and life
  • Develop a business (I’ve been working on it and am hoping to launch it)
  • Launch a new, professional blog (no worries – I’m still going to be blogging here!)
  • Stretch & exercise daily to improve flexibility and stay in shape
  • Edit These Stranger Tides
  • Work on the story ideas that are simmering, and…
  • See what God has in store! 😀

Goodbye 2016…

…and Hello 2017!

How was your year?
Are you looking forward to 2017?

49 thoughts on “In Which 2016 Comes to a Close | 2016 Blog Recap

  1. EEP 2016 IS OVER. *melts* This post was awesome, Grace! I also got introduced to Hamilton in 2016 and IT’S AWESOME — ANYONE READING THIS COMMENT WHO DOESN’T KNOW WHAT HAMILTON IS, JUST GO LISTEN TO A GOOD RECORDING OF NON-STOP/SATISFIED/WAIT FOR IT (the original Broadway recording, not the mixtape!!). I was a skeptic until I listened to it myself . . . then I couldn’t stop listening to it. XD #unashamedhamiltonpromotion

    And oh my goodness, congrats on getting a new sister this year! That’s fantastic! I’ve always wanted a little sibling, which would make me the middle one . . . :)) You know what? This time next year, it would be so cool if I could say “I met Grace @ The Girl Upstairs this year!” 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    • I KNOW. I’m sad, but definitely excited for 2017. 🙂
      I’m so glad you like it! YES! PROUD HAMILTRASH RGHT HERE!!!
      Aw, thank you! She’s adorable. 😉
      GAH SARAH YOU’RE SO NICEEE!!! And I will get to say, “Last year I met Sarah @ For All Who Wander!” ❤ ❤ ❤
      ~Grace ❤
      P.S. THEY'RE BATTERING DOWN THE BATTERY.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Happy New Year, Grace! ❤ ❤
    Overall, 2016 was a good year for me. I traveled across the US with my family, which has been a big dream of mine for a long time. I got my first dSLR. We got a new kitten whom we love. I also learned a lot school-wise, and have enjoyed taking an awesome online writing class. 🙂
    Awesome post, by the way, I bet you put a lot of work into it. 😀 I can't wait for 2017!

    -Clara ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Aw, I am SO glad you like beta-reading my novel! I finished chapter 22 two days ago and GUESS WHAT THE TOTAL WORD COUNT FOR EVERYTHING SO FAR IS?! 103,213 WORDS! I am literally so excited about it and can’t wait to finish writing Loyalty! Thank you SO much again for being such an amazing beta reader! ♥ ♥ ♥

    I love love loved reading about the highlights of your year and your goals for 2017! Ooh, a business and new professional blog? That sounds SO AWESOME! I can’t wait to see everything you’ll do in 2017. I know it’s going to be absolutely through-the-roof, over-the-top incredible (just like you!)!

    OOH, THE “TALK TO ME” SECTION! I love talking! XD (Prepare to be bored and roll your eyes at me. XD)

    How was your year?
    AMAZING! Every month and season was full of its own amazing memories… Winter was interesting (I was a few seconds away from passing out at church, I visited Texas again, and had to quit Dance Team ’cause of ministry schedules, which I was really sad about because it’s such an honor to be invited to), spring was both incredible and embarrassing (I began writing Loyalty, which was awesome, but made some pretty stupid, mortifying mistakes in the intensive ministry training group I was invited to in the winter but joined in spring after the Texas trip. >.< I did hold youth conferences and preach in churches across Florida, though, so that was kind of cool. It would've been even more cool had I not made a ton of dumb mistakes to get there. -__-). (Oh, yeah, and our amazing, hilarious, inspiring missionary friend came to stay to be under my dad's training from May-November! SO MUCH FUN!) Summer was FANTABULOUS (I visited Texas again for the most incredible summer vacation ever with our amazing missionary friend, all the while turning 13, finally watching all the Star Wars movies, going to the AGP, attending VBS for the first and last time, and so much more… then in Florida for the rest of my summer, I got an unbelievable raise in my job I was super excited about thanks to our integrity-filled missionary friend, swam a lot more, and went to the beach for the first time since we moved here – with our missionary friend and his sister & nephews!). In Autumn, I sadly realized I was losing an online friend who meant a lot to me, preached in more churches before *FINALLY* GRADUATING THAT INSANE INTENSIVE MINISTRY TRAINING GROUP, got Invisalign (goodbye, embarrassing smile!) and visited Texas for Thanksgiving). The rest of 2016 consisted of having to let my online friend go 😦 , doing a Christmas Craft Collab with Light4theLord, writing like crazy for Loyalty, and planning posts for 2017. I am now super excited to take what I've learned in 2016 and apply it to 2017!

    Which brings me to…

    Are you looking forward to 2017?
    Yes, yes, a thousand times YES! I'm super excited! I am really going to miss 2016 and all of its incredible happy times and feels, because 2017 is going to be a time of serious transition and change, which I don't necessarily like and is both exciting and a little sad. The plan is to travel a lot more and preach at different churches across the country – as a family instead of just me – but we're not exactly sure of what God has planned for our ministry yet. So who knows? Whatever lies ahead, I'm excited for it! As long as it doesn't require as many hours of sermon preparation… XD Ooh, and my older sister and I are both entering ministry internship! EEK! Oh. Wait. That probably means MORE hours of sermon preparation. *explodes*

    Well, anyway. XD Holy cow! This was a long comment (I talk way too much, huh? XD)… If you seriously read all of that, you rock. XD I can't believe how amazing 2016 has been. I never thought I would ever say this – EVER – but I guess I like living in Florida after all. It took more than a year, but I've come to know it as my home now, and I like it. *family & friends gasp in utter shock* Well, most of the time. XD

    Enough about me. I sound conceited. (XD) Could I ask your advice on something? [CLASSIFIED]

    •Madison•
    P.S. Are you staying up until 12 AM? I am, but I'm not doing anything special… just leaving long comments like this on blogs because I'm bored. XD (Actually, I should be probably be doing something productive, like writing in Loyalty or planning up blog posts for 2017. XD)

    Liked by 1 person

    • (Sorry it took me so long to reply! 😀 )
      Oh, that’s fantastic! EEP! I CAN’T WAIT TO READ IT. I take it you decided on what’s going to happen with the carriage ride? (Aw, you’re welcome! <3)
      Thank you! 2016 was awesome, and I'm really excited for 2017. 🙂 I'm also planning on doing the "Writing Days" idea you gave me! I'm going to be taking creative writing classes at the library, so I might try to incorporate that into my series. 🙂
      Your years sounds fantastic! I'm so glad that you're liking Florida. Next time we go down for vacation I'll have to visit! (Our friends live in St. Augustine…not sure how far you live from there. 😉 )
      Wow, that sounds amazing! Congrats on your internship! I'm not super active in our church (my youth group isn't all that great), but I'd really like to go on a local mission trip sometime. 🙂 Good luck, mon ami! 😀

      Haha, no problem! I adore long comments. 😀
      Happy 2017!!!
      ~Grace ❤
      P.S. To answer your question, YES! I am going to be doing a dollhouse tour! I painted the bathroom and second bedroom (although the bedroom needs another coat), and I'm working on tile for the bathroom floor. I'm so excited! 😀

      Like

      • (No problem! That’s so awesome that you reply to comments at all – it makes commenters feel so special! 😀 )
        Thank you SO much! 😀 Hehehe, I did! I also wrote my favorite part of the entire book in it (I never, ever thought I would make this happen for the two main characters XD). I’m super excited for when you read it! 😀

        You’re welcome! Ooh, YAY! I can’t wait to see it – it will be awesome!! (No pressure, of course XD)

        Hehe, it was! Me, too. 😀 I was just thinking how amazing it would be to meet you one day! (We’re 2.49 hours away from St. Augustine. *shakes fist at Maps app* XD)

        Thank you so much! I am super excited about it! If you ever do go on a local mission trip sometime, I hope you enjoy it! They are awesome! (You could even blog about it. ;)) Thanks again! I’m going to to need it…XD

        Haha, phew! I love ’em, too. 😀

        P.S. Oh my goodness, that sounds AMAAAAZING! I can’t wait to see the tour! I bet it will look awesome when it’s finished!

        Liked by 1 person

      • (Aww! I agree. 🙂 )
        You’re welcome! EEP! I can’t wait to read it! My ship name for Ari and Hinoki is Hinari. XD 😛 😀
        Ooh, that isn’t too far! We’d like to go to Disney again…not sure if that’s closer or far away, but maybe we could meetup sometime! 😀 😀 😀
        Thanks again, and you’re very welcome! 😀
        P.S. Thank you so much! It’s taken me forever to get it finally finished, but I’m gettin’ there! 😀 😉 😛

        Liked by 1 person

  4. It’s only 8:48 here! Wow, so different on the Pacific Coast! 😀

    This has been one of the best years I’ve had in forever and ever! I am just so happy about it. I’m hoping 2017 will be even better. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  5. GRACCEEEE Happy New Year!!! ❤ ❤
    Congrats on all your accomplishments this year! 2016 was such a success for you and your blog, and I'm SO happy for you. 🙂 Also, congrats to you and your family on your baby sister!!!!
    Have an incredible 2017. 🙂 ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I love the graphics you made for this post! Definitely made it easier to read then the big hunks of text that was mine. XD

    Your blog stats are awesome!

    OMG YOU GOT A BABY SISTER I LOVE BABIES

    I’m you feel you accomplished much writing!

    I started a bullet journal too, maybe we can learn together! 😀

    excersize daily… i wish! it was great to read about your goals!

    bye for now, april ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you so much, April! I’m sure your post was awesome, too. 🙂
      Thank you! I LOVE BABIES TOO! They’re so cute and squishy…*sigh*
      I did! I’m really proud of myself this year. 🙂 And that’s fantastic! I’m planning a BuJo Newbie Series, so you’ll get to see what mine looks like. 😉 And maybe you can do a show-and-tell of your own, so I cans ee yours! “D
      Thanks, April!

      Liked by 1 person

      • Aww, thanks!

        yes babies are so fun to squish i just want to hug them. i wish at school if you were having a bad day you could go and give a baby a hug

        yay, i can’t wait to see! hmm, good i dea for future blog post… i think i shall do that!

        Liked by 1 person

  7. What a wonderful post! It was nice long, filled with graphics, and of course your amazing writing! Congrats on 4. Gaining 100 Followers, that is so awesome! Oh, and being President is just WOW! I forgot about calling you President Grace, thanks for the reminder!Aww, newborn babies, are the cutest… Until they start crying the place down!
    I think a blog schedule did NOT work for me. I might try it again but I’m not too sure.
    Oh, and GOOD luck with bullet journaling. Mine is literally right next to me!
    Developing a business sounds awesome, best of luck!
    And a professional blog? Sounds SO COOL (Are you going to go self-hosted or just upgrade to WordPress Bussiness/Premium plan?)
    Writing sounds like it went well for you, I mean NaNo was awesome!
    HAPPY NEW YEAR!

    Liked by 2 people

  8. Great post, Grace! Ooh, looks like you had an exciting year too – especially with your baby sister being born! Aww! I DID have a good year, and I am certainly looking forward to the new year! I can’t wait either to see what God has in store. ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Yayyyy! Happy New Year, Grace! I can’t believe that it’s 2017 now. Insanity. O.O
    This post was so fun to read! I can’t wait for a Blogging 101 series! I love hearing what other bloggers think about…well, blogging! After doing it for so long, I’m sure you’ll have tons of great advice! 🙂 My 2016 was really crazy, and I definitely relate to the growing as a writer thing! I don’t want to even think about my writing a year ago. *shudders and hides*
    Great post, once again! 😀
    -Emma-

    Liked by 1 person

  10. HAPPY NEW YEAR!! A LOT has happened in the past year for you and for me! #whatanamazing2017 😀
    Wait, your mom had a baby?!?! CONGRATULATIONS!!! I am seriously SO HAPPY for you! A mini Grace!! 😄

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Happy New Year(well, I guess it’s a little late now)! It seems like your year was quite eventful. 🙂 Mine was too; we went to quite a few concerts, visited the Ark Encounter(have you heard of it?), and did many other fun things. This year will probably be just as busy. One thing I do know that’s happening is that my brother is graduating from college! It’s pretty cool. 🙂
    ~Christian Homeschooler

    Liked by 1 person

  12. Wow, Grace! Congratulations on all your successes last year! I hope you have a magnificent 2017 and meet all your goals!! 😀
    Congrats especially on getting a part in Alice in Wonderland and writing and entire novel for NaNo!! I still have yet to finish mine. XD

    Liked by 1 person

Talk to Me!

