Writing Days #1 – Getting Back to Writing

Hellooo friends! ๐Ÿ˜€ Today I’m here with a brand-new blog-series, per suggestion of the lovely Madison from Delightful World of Dolls. This series, called “Writing Days,” is going to be centered around my writing journey. Basically, I’ll be giving you insight as to what I’m doing writing-wise, and be sharing snippets,ย resources, and more!

Before we begin, I’d like to thank everyone who prayed for Sara and Beau. As of the time I’m writing this, he hasn’t stood yet, but is about to, and the vet thinks that it’s pointless to put him down. He believes that Beau’s injury has to do with muscle tissue, and that it will heal soon.
I am so happy! Praise the Lord! ๐Ÿ˜€

Anyhow, let Writing Days commence! *cuts ribbon* ย โœ‚๏ธ๏ธย ๐ŸŽ€

To start, I wanted to do some writing exercises to “flex my writing musclesย ๐Ÿ’ช” and help me get ready to write and edit some more.
With help of The Writer’s Toolbox, along with some other writing books I have on hand, I was able to ease back into writing.

Part of becoming better and growing as a writer is to try to write every day. I found a wonderful blog post with 365 daily creative writing prompts, and I plan on using those every day. ๐Ÿ™‚

Another “just-for-fun” thing I did was to write some blurbs for the story ideas I have. I wrote a blurb for my NaNo novel,ย These Stranger Tides, as well as someย new story ideas, which are sadly classified for now. ๐Ÿ˜ฎ
Writing blurbs are super fun, and also in some miraculous way unbeknownst to me, help me figure out parts of my story. And they’re just plain fun to write! ๐Ÿ˜€

These Stranger Tidesย Teaser Blurb

(What do you think of this being in the blockquote?)

All Arden Foster has ever known are the tall billowing meadow grasses, rocky island caves, and endless expanse of sea, surrounding the secluded island she calls home. Abandoned by the family she has no memory of, Arden is left to survive alone, turning the desolate, menacing island into somewhat of a home.

When the laid-back, cocky Troy Coleman – a well-known pilot – crash-lands on her island, Arden is given the chance to escape her home and find out who she really is. But Arden soon discovers that looks can be deceiving, and must decide for herself who to trust and where her loyalties will lie.


Outside (the Window)

(I decided to just write about the outside instead of just out the window. ๐Ÿ˜‰ )

Bright sunlight shines down, brightening the grass and soaking my face in its warmth. The January day is unusually warm, and makes my heart long for spring.

A sharp wind blows, tousling my hair and bending the branches of the trees. Winter birds hop about in the trees, filling the air with their sharp, cheerful songs. The smell of spring wafts through the air; fresh, damp dirt, leftover winter leaves, and blades of fresh grass. Even the wind itself has a scent, as it blows over me.

Above me, the sky is blue, covered with layers of clouds. The sun drifts behind them, and back out again to warm my face and make the wind bearable. The gusts of wind ebb and flow, chilling me then leaving me hot in my winter layers.

A sadness creeps up inside of me, knowing the warm weather wonโ€™t last for long. And Iโ€™m right; soon the clouds will cover the sun and thick rain will fall. But for now, I absorb the warm weather and thank God for the grass, for the wind, for the sun, and for the life He has blessed me with.



Those were fun to write.ย ๐Ÿ˜Š It took me a little bit, but I’m glad to get back into my flow. ๐Ÿ˜€

WAIT! Before you go, make sure to check out Anika’s Blog Tour! She’s publishing her very first book, and it looks so exciting! CLICK HERE to sign up for the tour!

And last but not least, did you enjoy this post? I had a lot of fun making it, although I don’t lie when I say it was tedious. ๐Ÿ˜›


How have you been getting back to writing?
What are some projects you’ve been working on?

Chat with me in the comments below!

 

43 thoughts on “Writing Days #1 – Getting Back to Writing

  1. I feel you about getting back to writing. After NaNoWriMo, you kind of get in a bit of a slump. Good luck on your book, by the way! Editing is tough. (Also, you kind of look like this girl I know, which probably sounds a little weird, but it would be cool if we ended up knowing each other in real life)

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Awesome job, Grace! This is a really great idea and I’m looking forward to reading more about your writing life! Also, I love the prompt response you wrote about outside the window! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Well, I’m on hiatus right now from actually writing my novel, because I’m stuck and am creating a more detailed outline for me to follow. And then I’m on hiatus from THAT because I’ve just started a blog, so… ๐Ÿ˜›

    Have you finished These Stranger Tides, or are you still working on it? (BTW It sounds SUPER AWESOME! ๐Ÿ˜€ )

    Liked by 1 person

  3. This is a neat series! I want to do more writing. I like writing, but have never really pursued it too much. I’d think up plenty of story ideas and occasionally try to start a story if I was in the mood, but never really been to serious. I do have a book I started that I was really into… until I got around chapter three and the computer was put away for about three months while we were in a rental condo, awaiting our new house. So now I’m not so into it. Hopefully I will start again. ๐Ÿ™‚ Maybe I should do NaNo… ๐Ÿ˜ฎ ๐Ÿ˜€
    ~Gracie

    Liked by 1 person

  4. YAAAY THE FIRST WRITING DAYS POST!!!

    Ahem. One exclamation point, Madi, just one…

    This is SO cool! Of COURSE I enjoyed it! ๐Ÿ˜„ I loved reading your blurbs – they are AMAZING, Grace! You are such. An incredible. WRITER. Like seriously awesome. ๐Ÿ˜„ And it’s true – writing blurbs helped me figure out some of my novel’s plot, too! LOL!

    Ah yes, my old friend; the talk to me section! How I have missed you since my last 917 word comment.

    How have you been getting back to writing?
    MUAHAHAHA I NEVER STOPPED!

    I lied. ๐Ÿ˜„ I was really sad when I went through a little 3-day period of writers block – I was really used to writing 1-3k a night and was very frustrated with myself. But then I figured out the key to ending writers block! Well, for me, anyway… Plot twists! Things you never saw coming… literally. I myself had no idea I was going to write what I did, but now everything is coming together and I’m so excited!

    What are some projects youโ€™ve been working on?
    โ€ขLoyalty, Book I: Divided We Die (I’m not too sure about the tagline… I’m still brainstorming on that.) I AM ALMOST DONE WITH THE SECOND TO LAST CHAPTER – AHHH! ๐Ÿ˜ฑ
    โ€ขOrphan Enemies (a story I’m writing with my best friend IRL)
    โ€ขAnd I recently finished the plot for my stopmotion movie!

    Once again, I love love LOVED this post! You’re so inspiring and amazing and such an awesome writer! Never stop being you, please… Like, ever. ๐Ÿ˜„

    โ€ขMadisonโ€ข

    Liked by 1 person

    • HOORAY! ๐Ÿ˜€ ๐Ÿ˜€ ๐Ÿ˜€

      Aw, thanks, Madi! You’re SO DARN NICE. ๐Ÿ˜„ I’m so glad you like my writing! It means a lot. ๐Ÿ™‚

      Oh yes… ๐Ÿ˜„ (But seriously, I love your responses to the Talk To Me! part. It’s fun to read. ๐Ÿ™‚ )
      Wow, that’s amazing though! And ONLY THREE DAYS LIKE WHA??? I’ve gone for weeks before without writing. :\ ๐Ÿ˜„ ๐Ÿ˜›

      EEP LOYALTY IS SO GOOD! I must admit I’ve been neglecting it a little…certainly not on purpose, but I just haven’t gotten around to reading chapter 19. :\ Sorry! I’d like to read some this weekend. ๐Ÿ™‚
      And those other stories sound awesome! I’m REALLY excited for the stopmotion movie! ๐Ÿ˜€ It’s SO AMAZING that you got Anna Basilmentos’s advice! That’s fantastic! ๐Ÿ˜€

      Thank YOU, Madi! I love your comments. ๐Ÿ™‚
      ~Grace โค

      Liked by 1 person

      • Aww, THANKS. ๐Ÿ˜„๐Ÿ˜„๐Ÿ˜„
        Aw, that means so much! I’m glad you like my responses. Hehe. ๐Ÿ˜„
        LOL! Don’t worry, after chapter 19 I literally did nothing but edit for an entire month before realizing you shouldn’t edit until AFTERWARDS! I lost like a ton of progress I could have made. ๐Ÿ˜‚
        Thank you SO much! I am REAALLYY glad you like it! ๐Ÿ˜€ And no worries at all! I totally understand, haha. I’m just so glad you’ve read so much! โค๏ธ
        Thank you so much! And ME TOO! I literally can’t wait to get started on it! And I know, right?! I couldn’t believe she responded to my emails again and again! She’s super nice!
        Aw, you’re so welcome, and thank you SOO much! I’m so glad you like them! ๐Ÿ˜€๐Ÿ˜€

        Liked by 1 person

      • You’re welcome! ๐Ÿ˜€
        Haha! Well, you’ve made a ton of awesome progress in the meantime! Your story is awesome. ๐Ÿ™‚
        You’re welcome, and thanks for being so understanding! ๐Ÿ˜€
        You’re welcome again! ( ๐Ÿ˜„ ) EEP. Can’t wait. ๐Ÿ˜€ That’s just SO cool that she responded! ๐Ÿ˜€
        Thanks again, Madi! ๐Ÿ˜€

        Liked by 1 person

  5. That’s a really good idea for a series! I can’t wait for the other posts. ๐Ÿ˜€
    Getting back to writing has been…ugh. I was doing really good last week and this week I have written approximately zero words. That might be because of the impending doom that self-set deadlines brings though. ๐Ÿ˜„
    I LOVE the title for your novel, by the way. It sounds really intriguing!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. This post was so cool! I loved reading about your writerness and writingness. ๐Ÿ˜„ BLURBS ARE SO FUN!!!! But I have the HARDEST time writing them, though once I’ve finished the first draft of a blurb, I get a lot more into it! ;D
    *sigh*
    Although I wrote that whole post about getting back into writing, I have yet to be serious about it. I’ve written a few thousand words in my NaNo book since I finished the 50k challenge, but for the life of me, I never want to write! *cries* Maybe it’s because Jaclynn is in the editing stage and we tend to write together over FaceTiming and that helps me… BUT NOW SHES NOT WRITING ANYMORE! ๐Ÿ˜„ LOL!
    Well. I don’t even know what this comment is.
    -Emma-

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks, Emma! I’m glad. ๐Ÿ™‚ YES BLURBS. They’re awesome! ๐Ÿ˜€ Haha, yup. ๐Ÿ˜›
      Haha, yup! I’ve had this post as a draft for a while without actually writing anything. *facepalm* Aw, that’s too bad! Maybe you just need a break, or a refresher. I’d try writing for fun and see how that affects your mood. ๐Ÿ˜›
      LOL! ๐Ÿ˜„ Well, thanks for it, ’cause I enjoying reading/replying! ๐Ÿ˜€

      Liked by 1 person

  7. Grace! I LOOVVEED THIS! The description was vivid, and gave off a faint mystery vibe that I enjoyed a ton! Yay for writing! Personally, I’ve been really bad at writing this past few weeks and want to dive right into my second draft! Good post! (Sorry for all of the “!”)
    -Jared

    Like

  8. Wow, Grace, YOUR BOOK SEEMS SO GOOD! I can’t wait to read it, when/if I do! (Which I hope will happen. ๐Ÿ˜œ) Anyhoo, amazing post, I can’t wait for more of this awesome series! ๐Ÿ˜€

    Like

Talk to Me!

