So Far, So Good… || January 2017 Recap

Hello everyone! Can you believe that it’s almost February? 2017 is officially underway, and I’m definitely enjoying it so far. πŸ™‚

Let’s take a look at 2017 so far…

jan-recap-graphic

Overall, January has been a good month. I’ve had my share of ups and downs, but overall I’ve enjoyed 2017 so far. 😊

This month I worked on sticking to my blogging schedule, and I had a blast writing up these posts. πŸ˜€
(For some reason the links aren’t showing up, but they’re still there. πŸ™‚ )

In Which 2016 Comes to a Close || 2016 Blog Recap

Christmas Haul {2016}

Setting Up My Bullet Journal – January 2017

The HamilTag

ReBlogged: A Sad but Necessary Post

Writing Days #1 – Getting Back to Writing

Make sure to check out these posts if you haven’t already and let me know of any post suggestions of yours! πŸ˜€

I’m not sure if I said this before, but I usually go in reading spurts, where I read a lot and then don’t read much, then read a lot, and so on. I kinda had a little bit of a “slump” at the beginning of the month, but now I’m reading a lot of books. πŸ™‚

The Seventeenth Swap by Eloise Jarvis McGrawΒ Β Plain Girl by Virginia SorensenΒ Β The Midwife's Apprentice by Karen CushmanΒ Β Miracles on Maple Hill by Virginia SorensenΒ The One and Only Ivan by Katherine ApplegateΒ  Β The Mysterious Benedict Society by Trenton Lee StewartThe Little Riders by Margaretha SheminΒ The War that Saved My Life by Kimberly Brubaker BradleyΒ The Lady of the Vineyard by Kellyn RothΒ The Mysterious Benedict Society and the Perilous Journey by Trenton Lee StewartΒ 

{via Goodreads}

I read a total of 10Β books this month. My favorites include The One and Only Ivan, The War that Saved My Life, and The Mysterious Benedict Society, which I decided to try after Megan and Allison told me how much they enjoyed it. And needless to say, I loved it! πŸ˜€

Unfortunately, this month hasn’t been too productive writing-wise. I struggled to get back into the flow with things, after taking a break after NaNoWriMo.Β I’ve been working to get back into a writing flow, and have gotten consistent with writing every day.
I’ve also come up with some great story ideas that I’m super excited for! πŸ˜€

I read some truly fantastic posts this month! Here are some of them:
(Even though the links don’t appear to be there, they still are. Hover over the words and click them to visit the post! πŸ˜€ )


(What is your opinion on the dots? I’m a bit undecided…)

January has been one great month, and I’ve got some exciting things coming up as well! πŸ˜€

  • (More) Alice In Wonderland rehearsals 😬
    Indeed, my frens…more rehearsals! This month’s will be on stage, with costumes and set, so they’re going to be much more exciting!
  • Plot my upcoming short story
    I have an exciting short story idea, and all it needs is some brainstorming and plotting! I may write this for Camp NaNo in July, or edit TST…we’ll see…
  • Brainstorm a novel/series idea
    GAH! I have anΒ amazing (if I do say so myself) story idea that I’m SO excited about! It could possibly be turned into a series, but I’ll have to decide that later. πŸ˜‰
  • Whatever comes my way!
    I’m honestly not sure what will happen next month, but I’m definitely excited to see what February has in store!

How hasΒ your 2017 been so far?
How have your resolutions fared this month?
What are you looking forward to in the coming months?

40 thoughts on “So Far, So Good… || January 2017 Recap

  1. That was a super fun post to read! I’m glad you were able to find time to read some books, and I totally get you on the writing slump! Hopefully you (and I) will be able to get back into that writing flow next month! πŸ™‚
    (And thanks for linking to my post! πŸ˜€ )

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m glad you had a good January, Grace! Mine was pretty good too. πŸ™‚
    BOOKS! YAYAYAYAY! OOH. MBS. YAYAYAYAYAYAYAYAY AGAIN! πŸ˜„ I’m soooo glad you liked it! Hee hee! I haven’t read the other two books which were your favorites, but I’ve read The Seventeenth Swap, The Little Riders, Miracles on Maple Hill, and of course, MBS. πŸ˜‰
    Ooh, I hope your Alice rehearsals go well! Have a great month, Grace. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Great post, Grace dear! January has been great, if a bit hectic . . . all I need is to convince my mom to let me blog again and I’ll be set to bounce back to Pens and Piano Keys. I’m so excited to do Camp NaNo! I think I’ve decided on writing the first book in my trilogy for April, writing a second draft of it for July, and writing the second book for November NaNo. I’ve been keeping up with my bullet journal, mostly because washi tape and bujos in general are so aesthetically pleasing ( πŸ˜‚ ).

    Great blog post recommendations, too! I love a lot of those posts! I’m so happy we’re blogging friends. ❀

    P.S. Did you decide on a food for your blog? πŸ˜„

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I’m glad 2017 has been going well for you! I’ve read about 10 books this year/month too which I think is quite good (According to Goodreads) XDI can’t wait for what’s to come… (love the dots)

    P.S Thanks so much for mentioning my post in there! Means a lot to me!!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I’m so glad that 2017 has been off to a good start for you! That’s wonderful! I just found your blog this morning so I’m looking forward to reading more of your posts in the near future!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Ooh, sounds like you’ve have an AMAZING January! And those rehearsals sounds so exciting! You’ll do GREAT! πŸ˜€ And good luck with all your writing endeavors! I hope you’re able to accomplish everything that’s in your heart to do this February. πŸ˜€ Oh, and I think the dots would be great if ALL of the text-images had them, but if it’s just that one, it looks a little out of place. TOTALLY just my personal opinion, though! I love it all! πŸ˜€

    *hugs Talk to Me section* πŸ˜„

    How has your 2017 been so far?
    Eh, pretty good. πŸ˜› I’m mostly being a procrastinator for no reason, which is bad. And immature. And I’m 13. So I should stop. πŸ˜› The months ahead are going to be even better. πŸ˜€

    How have your resolutions fared this month?
    Yikes. I’ve only destroyed 5 out of 18 things on my January Destruction List. *collapses to the floor in a pool of tears while sobbing miserably* Ahem. But it didn’t help that I LOST THE LIST two weeks into January. *facepalm* I think I made God laugh really hard at me when I did that… I was so pumped up to “destroy” (complete) the list and then I LOST IT. πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚ So it doesn’t really count. Wait, no, make that six things destroyed! I posted the Level Up survey today! *crosses out 8th destruction goal* Wow. I’ve only completed a THIRD of my list and there’s only one day left of January. -__-

    What are you looking forward to in the coming months?
    Travel, ministering, and summer. *sighs dreamily* Travel because that means Texas, new places, and airplane flights (which are awesome), ministry because that means changing peoples’ lives (and maybe starting a personal blog to document it!), and summer because I make the best memories in the summer (awesome again). *sighs dreamily again*

    Once again, I love your monthly recap posts, Grace! But then again… I love all your posts.

    β˜…Madison

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks Madi, I have! πŸ™‚ Aw, thanks! Rehearsals have been going great so far! πŸ˜€ And writing has been a little slow lately, mostly ’cause I lost my writing notebook. 😦
      YAY! I love reading your answers to my “Talk To Me” section! πŸ˜€
      Aw, that’s too bad! It’s okay though…just shake it off a keep moving. πŸ˜‰ (What I’ve had to tell myself πŸ˜› )
      Wow, that sounds like SO much fun! I’ve never actually been on an airplane except when I was an infant. πŸ˜› Good luck! (I can’t wait to hear about how things go on your blog(s)! πŸ˜€ )
      Aw, thanks again! Good luck with your February goals and upcoming things! πŸ˜€
      ~Grace ❀
      P.S. For some reason your survey questions didn't send through. I checked spam but they weren't there, either. :\
      P.P.S. Did my comment on chapter 22 send through? I sent it in once and you never approved it, so I sent it again. No rush at all…just wanted to make sure it didn't end up in spam! πŸ˜€

      Liked by 1 person

      • You’re welcome! I’m so glad! Aw, I know how that is! 😦 Hope you’re able to find it soon!
        Aww, I’m so glad you like them! Hehe! πŸ˜„
        Thanks! True, true. πŸ˜‰ I’m glad I at least shot for 18 and completed now 7 than if I would’ve shot for only five and got that many! πŸ™‚
        Ooh, you should ride on an airplane sometime if you ever get the chance! It’s really fun! And thank you SO much!! πŸ˜€
        Thank you so much again, Grace! πŸ˜€

        P.S. Aw man, really? Contact boxes must hate me! I tried sending something through a contact box but the receiver never got it, either. Should I try just sending it to your commenting email?
        P.P.S. Oh, yes, I got it! I just haven’t approved it yet (along with a ton of others I need to reply to XD). Sorry for the wait! 😬 By the way, I FINISHED THE ENTIRE BOOK LAST NIGHT! Loyalty is my very first novel and I’m SO excited! I’ve already begun the editing process! I’ve used a ton of your suggestions for chapter 1 and it’s completed the first stage of editing – the only problem is that I can’t make myself even read chapter 2. There’s probably a reason why I haven’t touched it since trying to edit it in July – it’s HORRIBLE! I literally spent around ten minutes just groaning and cringing and then ranting in my phone about how immensely painful it was to try to read. I think I’m going to completely rewrite it. I couldn’t make myself read more than a sixth of the way into it without wanting to spend the next four hours barfing… πŸ˜‚ it is seriously the worst thing I’ve ever written in my entire life. πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚ I read my beta readers’ comments on it, though, and I felt a little better… you guys are so nice… πŸ˜„ I still think I’m going to rewrite the entire thing, though. πŸ˜‚
        Whew! Sorry for the rant. I guess I underestimated the editing process. Chapter 2… yikes.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Thanks again! πŸ˜€ You’re welcome…I love them. πŸ™‚
        Indeed! And look what you DID get done! πŸ˜€
        P.S. Heehee! πŸ˜› Yep, just send it to my comment email. πŸ™‚
        P.P.S. Okay! No problem…just wanted to make sure it sent. πŸ™‚
        YAYAYAYAYAYAYAYYY!!! Bella and I were talking about it last night and we’re so excited! πŸ˜€
        YAYAYAYAYAYAYAYYY again!!! ( πŸ˜„ πŸ˜„ πŸ˜„ ) I’m so glad you liked my suggestions! Haha, I know all about horrible writing…and I’m sure it’s not as bad as you think. πŸ˜› πŸ˜‰ πŸ˜„

        Like

  7. It’s crazy that January is already coming to a close! 2017 just started!
    That’s great that you read MBS, I love that series (though my favorite is the first book!). Are you planning on reading the third?
    Hmm, in February, I’m looking forward to continuing/doing some more arts/crafts and finishing/continuing decorating my room (and hopefully getting completely on top of my school work πŸ˜„ ) !
    ~Gracie
    P.S. I’m thinking about doing Camp NaNo (probably July)… I hope to do the real thing next November, too. I’m really new to NaNoWriMo (AKA I’ve never done it). Any advice or info I should know about? Do you recommend Camp NaNo/NaNo?

    Liked by 1 person

Talk to Me!

