The Writer’s Prompt Challenge {#1}

Hello there, and happy Sunday! How’s it been? Mine’s been pretty good…we’ve been cleaning the house and enjoying the bright sunlight and beautiful weather. ๐Ÿ™‚

In today’s post, I’m going to be introducing you to The Writer’s Prompt Challenge, co-hosted by me and the lovely Allie Taylor.

twpc

{Image made by Allie Taylor}

ย 

The Writer’s Prompt Challenge (TWPC) is a monthly challenge for writers. Each month, a set of prompts is posted for writers to include in their stories. At the end of the month, the entries are judged and a winner is chosen! ๐Ÿ˜€


{taken from Allie’s post}

  1. Yourย entry must be between 100 โ€“ 300ย words.
  2. A new challengeย will be posted on the first Wednesday of the month (or otherwise stated for certain cases)
  3. The winners will receive a badge for their blog
  4. The winner will be chosen based on the judgesโ€™s preferences, as well as the following questions:ย Does this entry capture my attention immediately?ย Does it make me want to continue reading? Is the writing clear?ย They will also take into consideration the writerโ€™s voice and style. Usage and application of the given prompts are taken highly into consideration of story rank.ย 
  5. This isย a challenge. Have fun, but be competetive.
  6. As of now, there are no prizes but the badge.
  7. When writing your post, be sure to include the Writerโ€™s Prompt Challenge image.
  8. The Deadline for this challenge is the last Wednesday of the month. The winners will be announced on the first Wednesday of the next month.

ย – Item Prompts –
Lightning, Fear, Sword(s)

– Picture Prompt(s) –

Picture Prompt:
via

– Sentence Prompt –

โ€œIโ€™m sorry I lied. But they made me.โ€

– Character Prompts –

Boy; Curly, brown hair; auqua eyes; tall; sweet
Girl; long, wavy, caramel hair; sharp grey eyes; tall; timid

– Fact Prompts –

  • The two main characters share a dance
  • Good guy/girl is secret bad guy/ girl

You don’t have to use every prompt, as there are a lot, but it is encouraged!

{taken from Allie’s post}

  • Post your entry on your blog (or you can send it to me via email or the comment section of the current challenge post)
  • If you post it on your blog, leave the link to the post in the comments
  • Make sure to highlight (bold AND italicize if you canโ€™t highlight) the prompts like (e.g.) Cape, frost, etc. so I can easily see what prompts you have used.
  • Make sure to make it clear in your comment/post/email what prompts you have used, how many words your story is, your age (optional), your first name or a nickname, and the link to your blog.

 

JUST TO BE CLEAR:

This month is Allie’s turn to host the challenge. I’m merely spreading the word about this challenge.
Please send your entries to her. I’ll be happy to answer any questions about how things work, but for technical things, please let Allie know.

>>> ALLIE’S POST LINK <<<

Are you excited for TWPC? Will you be entering?
Do you like the little graphics I made? What are some design tips of yours?
Lastly, do you prefer my post text color to be black or the natural dark gray like it is now?

46 thoughts on “The Writer’s Prompt Challenge {#1}

  1. Yay! I’ve already written my entry and will post it sometime later this month. ๐Ÿ˜› (Also, did Allie tell you she’s letting me pass with 132 words over the limit, since she’s such a sweet little mango? If that’s not okay with you, I can reduce my entry to the 300 word limit. ๐Ÿ™‚ )

    I have a question: In your post, you had one picture for the picture prompt (though I’m not using it), and Allie’s post has a Pinterest board. Her post also has a character image prompt thing (which didn’t work), so is that not a prompt? *is confused*

    To answer your questions…

    Yes, I am excited! Yes, I’m definitely entering! Oh yes, the graphics are quite lovely! ๐Ÿ™‚ Well, I’m not a very good designer, so I have no tips. ๐Ÿ˜› Hmm, I like both the black and grey…

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hooray! That sounds so exciting, May! ๐Ÿ˜€ (Yes, that’s completely fine with me! This month it’s Allie’s turn for judging and next month will be mine…I’m just spreading the word.)
      Yes, I saw that! Since it doesn’t work at all, just don’t include it and I’ll tell Allie. She’ll probably just leave it out of the judging, since no one can do it. ๐Ÿ™‚
      Thanks for answering my questions as well! ๐Ÿ˜€

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Very cool, Grace! I might enter . . . but we’ll see, depending on my school workload. Are you going to share the winning entry? And I love your graphics! They’re very cute, and I think they’re much improved.

    P.S. HOW DOES A RAGTAG VOLUNTEER ARMY IN NEED OF A SHOWER SOMEHOW DEFEAT A GLOBAL SUPERPOWER??!

    Liked by 3 people

  3. Ohh, I think I saw this on Allie’s blog! *smacks forehead for not commenting* This looks SO cool, you guys! Unfortunately, I do not think I’ll be able to enter this month, but I do have one question; is it a completely different, monthly thing? Like, it’s not a writing *camp*, but a writing *challenge* with new people every month? So if one writer can’t join in one month, they can join the next or something like that?

    If it works like that, I’d love to enter during a month where I have time! This sounds SO fun, Grace and Allie! Like I said, I don’t think I’ll be able to do it this time around, but if it’s a new thing every month instead of teams then I’d love to join in the future!

    I also LOOOVE your graphics, Grace! They are so beautiful and make your post look so organized and lovely! I cannot tell you how much I seriously like them! They’re AMAZING!

    How is this possible? I’ve said this much without a smiley? This simply will not do!
    XD XD XD XD XD XD XD XD XD XD XD XD

    There! XD

    Personally, I like the natural dark gray / automatic font color it is now! I also really enjoyed this post, which is why I’ve liked, commented, and followed for more! XD

    โ˜…Madison

    Liked by 2 people

  4. Ooh, this sounds really neat! I don’t know if I’ll enter or not, but it’s such a great idea either way! I really like the CD picture prompt. ๐Ÿ™‚ Oh, and I like your text dark gray, just like it is now. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 2 people

  5. Hi Grace! I’m (quite) new to your blog, I was thinking I might want to do this challenge. But I don’t have a blog… do you have to have a blog to do it? In case I want to do it. Also, is your name really Grace Thomas? (like the doll! That’s SO cool!) and a random fact, a while ago me and my little sisters were playing barbies and I had a doll that I named ‘Allie Taylor’! Her name is forever Allie Taylor now! I was laterally SO surprised when I saw your names!โ˜บ

    ~Gracie~โ™ฅโ˜บ

    Liked by 1 person

  6. This sounds amazing! I am afraid I can’t participate this month, but hopefully next month. Sounds like an amazing contest though!

    Also, I prefer natural grey. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

Talk to Me!

