Penny’s New Beginning Blog Tour + Book Madness Week 2

*trumpet fanfare* Hello everyone, and welcome to the blog tour of Penny’s New Beginning! Anika Joy, a well-known blogger from around these parts, is publishing her first-ever novella, and I’m participating. πŸ™‚ And I’m also going to be sharing the next round of Book Madness, soΒ make sure to read the whole post! πŸ˜€

The blog tour of Penny’s New Beginning begins today, March 21st, and ends on the 23rd. Make sure to check out all of the lovely blogs participating in the tour! (A list of tour participants will be included at the end of this post.)

For my part of the tour, I’m going to be spotlighting the book, reviewing the book, and interviewing the author.

Can they save Utopia?

Nine-year-old Penny Hearting has just moved to Nassau with her family, and is completely convinced that a mermaid rescued her from drowning, but no one believes her. So, she takes matters into her own hands and goes on a search for the mermaid that rescued her.

Ten-year-old Emmy is the princess of Utopia, an underwater city populated by mermaids. But, when her evil aunt, Cassandra, takes the city from her father, the King, her only option is to seek help from the girl who she rescued from drowning.

When these two lives collide, can they and another friend save their homes from disaster?

Find on GoodreadsΒ | Find on Amazon

________________________________________________________

Anika Joy is a daughter, sister, and child of the one true King. She loves to write books, sing in choir, and bake treats for her family. Β At the age of 4 she taught herself to read and wrote her first short story when she was 8. That story was later published in a kid’s magazine when she was 11, which sparked her dream of becoming a published author. She is now very happy to see that dream come true.

Anika currently lives with her two sisters, two brothers, and parents in North Dakota, and feels very blessed to be awaiting the arrival of another little sister.Β 

BlogΒ |Β Author SiteΒ |Β GoodreadsΒ |Β Pinterest Β |Β Twitter

Image result for three stars

To start, I want to congratulate Anika for all of her accomplishments – from starting a blog to getting her very first novella published! She’s a very young writer and is already starting Β strong. *claps* Fantastic work, dear!
Penny’s New BeginningΒ is a pleasant, charming story filled with adventure. The story is short and sweet, and makes for a quick read. It’s a perfect story for children, and the mood is light and fun. It was a little young for me, but I still enjoyed it very much and it is a good read for older kids as well.
The characters were likable and realistic, although I wished I could have gotten to know some of them a bit more. The plot’s pace was very quick and went from one thing to the next to the next, which I didn’t particularly enjoy.
But other than these things, Anika’s story was fun, entertaining, and overall a wonderful read. πŸ™‚

Where did your love for words and writing originate?

I started reading when I was four, and I loved it. I could spend just hours reading at a time, and that’s pretty much what I did. My mom always had this ginormous, old book titled “Little Women” sitting on her bookshelf. When I was 8, I decided to read it. It was 700 pages long but I finished the whole thing in a week. Ever since, Little Women has been one of my favorite books (besides KOTLC of course). I started writing shortly after (when I was 9) and have been doing so ever since.Β 

What inspired you to write Penny’s New Beginning? Where did you get the idea?

The Little Mermaid was my favorite movie back then, so I wanted to write something about mermaids. I can’t really remember where I got the idea for the plot and characters…it was a while ago, though.

What was the most challenging process of creating this story?

Editing. I wrote this when I was 9 and had no idea of grammar and lines and spacing. Gah, it was a total mess. But, I managed to make it decent enough for beta-readers and then an editor (thanks again, Abi!)

Why did you choose to self-publish instead of the traditional way? Do you have any advice for young writers who are interested in exploring indie-publishing?

I chose self publishing because I wanted to publish it fast and without a lot of hassle. My advise is: never give up. Sometimes, I’m being lazy, and I need to finish the cover of the book before the deadline, and I just don’t want to do it, and then I end up finishing it two days before the book comes out (yes, this is a true story). But, I just need to push myself out of the “I don’t want to do this” stage and JUST DO IT. Never. Ever. Give up.

What are your hopes for your novella? Where do you hope to see Penny’s New Beginning in the future?

I don’t expect a whole bunch. I don’t really expect it to be a NYT Bestseller any time, but I hope to see one of my novels there sometime. I hope that people enjoy it and like it. That’s all a writer could ever really want.Β 

 

March 21st (Today)
Β 
Elle Stevens – Book Review
Β 
Grace (The Girl Upstairs) – Review, Spotlight, Author Interview
Β 
Sylvanian Universe Blog – Review, Spotlight, Author Interview
Β 
Kellyn Roth – Author Interview
Β 
Β 
Β 
March 22nd
Β 
Chloe – Author Interview
Β 
Sarah – Review, Spotlight, AuthorΒ Interview
Β 
Savannah Grace – Author Interview
Β 
Β 
March 23rd
Β 

Josie – Author Interview

 

A big thanks to Anika for having me as part of the tour! It was an honor to be able to read her story and help spread the word of her lovely novella. πŸ™‚


Now, moving on to round 2 of Book Madness! Are you ready to see who is moving on to Round 2, and what the new matchups will be? πŸ™‚
Let’s start with the bracket:

The matchups for this week aren’t ideal genre-wise, but I can’t really help it.Β πŸ˜†

>>> BOOK MADNESS WEEK 2 <<<

VOTING WILL END on Sunday, March 26. Make sure to get your votes in before then to make ensure that your favorite books win!


Phew! That was a lot of things all in one post, non? Well, I hope you enjoyed!
Make sure to check out Anika’s blogΒ – as well as the other blogs participating in the tour – for more onΒ Penny’s New Beginning. And be sure to pick up a copy of your own!

AndΒ before you go, could you give your opinion of my design? I’ve been playing around with some graphic designs, and I was trying out a new color for my blog.
Thanks! πŸ˜€

And lastly, make sure to get your TWPC entries in by Sunday, March 26th.

All right, you guys can go – I promise! πŸ˜€ Thanks for reading, everyone. πŸ™‚

55 thoughts on “Penny’s New Beginning Blog Tour + Book Madness Week 2

  1. AAAAAHHHHHHH it was even HARDER to choose which books! *wails* oh well. I managed it. πŸ˜›
    YAY ANIKA!!! YOU PUBLISHED A BOOK??? GOOD FOR YOU!!! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ *throws confetti* *passes out warm ripple-fluffs*
    Most crazily, ~Olive

    Liked by 2 people

  2. I voted! πŸ˜€
    About your new designs on on blog, I like the idea or style or whatever you want to call it, but I think the blue on the header is too light, making it a bit hard to read the text. The darker blue you used for the graphics in this post make it quite easy to read the text on them, though. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  3. OKAY YOU ALREADY KNOW FROK MY THAT I’M HEAD OVER HEELS IN LOVE WITH YOUR DESIGN. But anywho, great post, my dear fren! Congrats, Anika, for publishing your story at such a young age! ❀ And YUSSS I SHALL GO CAST MY VOTE FOR LOTR AGAIN. I think everything I voted for won except for Giver and Blackbird Pond . . . Ooh, did you get my (very panicked) email about the characters? πŸ˜„

    Liked by 2 people

    • YAY! *does happy dance* I’m SO GLAD! I actually tweaked the header ’cause some people said it was hard to read the words…how do you think it looks now? I’m kinda eh. :\
      Yep, I got your email! Just wrackin’ ma brain for ideas before I respond (’cause I HATE it when people just say, ‘I’ll think about it’ and never do). πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

      • Ooh, I like it!! It looks nice either way, really . . . I actually liked it better without the shadow, but I can see how it makes it easier to read the words.
        Ooh, okay! THANK YOU SO MUCH, DEAR! ❀

        Liked by 1 person

      • Oh, one thing occurred to me — it felt a bit off, but I couldn’t quite place it until now. If you look at the shadows, the shadows for the words “The” and “Upstairs” are on the right side of the words (light source from above left), while the shadow on the word “Girl” is on the left (light source from above right). I would make all three words with the same shadow direction, since somehow I feel like it doesn’t quite feel right looking at it. Just my thoughts, though. πŸ˜€

        Liked by 1 person

      • Oh, okay! Sounds good! πŸ‘ and AGH I JUST REALIZED THAT I HAVE TO CHOOSE BETWEEN FELLOWSHIP AND THE BOOK THIEF HALP *dies* But. I am a loyal Hobbit. *cries because Book Thief*

        Liked by 1 person

  4. This looks like a cool book! πŸ˜€
    I’d be glad to give some design opinions! πŸ˜› The main thing that bothers me about it is that the light blue on white is really hard to read, so I have to kinda squint at your header to read it. Maybe if you darkened the shade of blue a bit? πŸ˜€ Other than that, though, I love it!

    -Clara ❀

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Great post, Grace. I really enjoyed reading it. I loved your Book Madnesss ideas, sadly The Penderwicks and Anne Of Green Gables didn’t go through to week 2, though. I love The Penderwicks, still waiting desperately for book number 5!!!!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. OOH NEW DESIGN >>>> i looove it. Though I think I liked the previous one better. BUT THIS ONE IS STILL SO SKY LIKE AND WONDERFUL! Only think i could say is the tagline should be smaller than THE GIRL UPSTAIRS, right?
    Voted and checking out Anik’a book now – love the cover!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Nice design! I like the dark blue color–but, then again, blue is my favorite color so. :p

    The book sounds amazing! I have voted and hopefully The Hunger Games and the Mockingbird move on. I loved those books. πŸ˜€

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Wow, Anika! Congratulations! It was fun to read the interview, Grace and Anika. πŸ˜€
    Ooh, another Book Madness! I shall vote. πŸ˜€
    P. S. I DO like your new design, Grace! It’s so dainty and pretty. πŸ™‚ But the one suggestion I have is maybe to make the watercolor splash a tad darker because it’s a bit difficult to read the words sometimes. πŸ˜‰ But I like it!

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Ah, congrats to dearest Anika on getting her book published! And AGH HOW DARE YOU PUT KOTLC AGAINST MBS WHAT HOW AM I SUPPOSED TO DO THIS *cries* And you already know what I think of your design. πŸ˜‰ (I see that you did the shadow thing though! πŸ˜€ ) I do agree with Mahriya on the size of the font, though. And do you want me to replace your old button with your new one on my blog? Also AGH TWPC OKAY I WILL POST MY ENTRY THIS SATURDAY. πŸ˜„

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Ooh, this book looks great! I’ll have to read it sometime.
    So, Grace, you signed up for the AGPS Competition. It’s the 4th challenge, and that will be posted in a few minutes, but I just wanted to let you know that you need to participate in at least one challenge to remain a part of AGPSC. Just wanted to let you know, there’s two challenges left, so you have plenty of time!
    ~Sam

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Great review, and congratulations to Anika for the book!
    I voted! I think I might make a “goal/plan” (that makes it sound way too hard…) to read whichever book wins (unless I’ve already read it). That could be interesting!
    Do you think you could link the names of people in the blog tour to their blogs?
    ~Gracie

    Liked by 1 person

  12. Hey Grace! I don’t know if you are doing campnano again this year, but we all have a cabin again. We’d love to have you for a second round o’ writing! If you can just leave me a note/link to your profile on my blog, than I can add you. I’m so sorry I’m so late (cabin closures are in two days!).
    Thanks!
    -Mic

    Liked by 1 person

Talk to Me!

