March 2017 Recap & April Goals + Book Madness FINALE

YAY FOR SEMI-DECENT FEATURED IMAGES!!!
I’m startin’ to get better… πŸ˜›

Anyway, happy April! I’m very excited for the coming month – to leave the winter weather behind and soak in the spring, move forward with my writing, complete NaPoWriMo, and watch you campers suffer in agony while I sit back and write a poem and chill.

But this post isn’t about April. Er, not entirely. This post is about March, and a recap of what has happened. πŸ™‚

Shall we begin?

{credit to May for layout inspiration}

march-recap-graphic

  • Shows for Alice in Wonderland ||Β I had a blast performing in Alice in Wonderland at my local theater. And in case you were wondering, IΒ did survive Tech Week.
  • I explored graphic design some more and am really excited about digging deeper into design.
  • I’ve reignited my writing spark, which I’ll talk more about later.
  • AndΒ lived my life! (Hence my tagline. πŸ˜‰ ) Things have been a little nuts around here, between sickness, crazy schedules, and trying to get enough sleep, but I’m excited for the coming months.
so evidently books is masculine in French? I dunno…

This month was great reading-wise! I managed to read a bunch of books between rehearsals, make-up dance classes, and shows, so I’m pretty happy. {Though I feel like I’ve read more books than these…?}

{covers via Goodreads}
Out of the Dust by Karen HesseΒ The Extraordinary Education of Nicholas Benedict by Trenton Lee StewartΒ The Penderwicks by Jeanne BirdsallΒ Anne of Ingleside by L.M. MontgomeryΒ Pride and Prejudice by Jane AustenΒ It's Like This, Cat by Emily Cheney Neville

Rainbow Valley (Anne of Green Gables, #7)Β The Unwanteds (Unwanteds, #1)Β Alice's Adventures In Wonderland

In case you’re blind,Β Here’s a list of books I read:

  • Out of the Dust by Karen Hesse
  • The Extraordinary Education of Nicholas Benedict by Trenton Lee Stewart
  • The Penderwicks by Jeanne Birdsall {thx to ma bestie for lending me this one!}
  • Anne of InglesideΒ by L.M. Montgomery
  • Pride and PrejudiceΒ by Jane Austen {thx toΒ ma other bestie for giving me this book for my b-day!}
  • It’s Like This, Cat by Emily Neville

And currently reading…

  • Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland by Lewis Carroll
  • Rainbow Valley by L.M. Montgomery
  • The UnwantedsΒ by Lisa McMann

|| favorite book ||

Pride and Prejudice. Kinda hard to understand, but I loved it and LIZZY AND DARCY ARE JUST SO ADORABLE! #otpΒ The Unwanteds is also SUPER AMAZING so far. πŸ™‚

|| least favorite book ||

It’s Like This, Cat without. A. Doubt. It was okay, but just kindaΒ eh. Not my kind of story.

Plus…shoutout to Jaquelle Crowe for launching her new book,Β This Changes Everything! She co-runs a Young Writers Workshop (more about that) that I’m in and is awesome, soΒ go buy her book!

This Changes Everything: How the Gospel Transforms the Teen Years

  • My one year blogisversary passed – YAY! Thank y’all so much for the amazing support and ❀ you’ve given me. 😘
  • I re-designed my blog and I think it looks beautiful! 😍 😍 😍{Shoutout toΒ MeganΒ for making my previous design…you did a fantastic job and I greatly appreciate it!}
  • I also changed my theme and made some new writing pages…check them out at the top if you haven’t seen them yet! πŸ˜€

|| top posts ||

|| other awesome posts ||

My writing life really prospered this month! *feels poetic while saying that* πŸ˜„
I’ve really just gotten more excited and inspired with my writing and am excited for the future. πŸ™‚

  • I joined a Young Writers’ Workshop! || My dad’s friend from Montana told us about a writing workshop that his daughter was going to do, and IΒ joined right away! The “teachers” are Brett Harris and Jaquelle Crowe, and provide a video each weekΒ related to writing. There’s also a separate community page, where you can connect with other young writers.
    If you’d like to check out more info and join the waiting list,Β click here!
  • I got two new story ideas which I’m very excited about! The first is based off of a boy I know who has cancer – it’s about a kid with cancer and is going to be told through poetry. The second – without going into much detail – is a retelling of a famous poem. Can’t say which, though. #secrets πŸ˜› πŸ˜„ O_o
  • And as I said above, I’m getting to be more inspired and making a plan for the rest of the year.
  • And finally,Β NaPoWriMo! I know, this doesn’t start till April, but I’m still counting it. πŸ˜‰

 

{these may be changed later once I get my bullet journal goal list set up}

  • Complete NaPoWriMo and Camp NaNo || Pretty easy. πŸ˜›
  • Work on my new story idea || Depending on how things go, I’ll either be plotting it or making a master list of poems for it. We’ll see. πŸ˜‰
  • Get back to my blogging schedule ||Β I had a blogging schedule for a while, but it kinda got shoved aside. This month, I’d like to re-implement it back into my life.
  • Fix my pages & finalize my blog design
  • Get back to my Bullet Journal || Things have been crazy, and many times I haven’t updated my habit tracker or forget to write my daily to-do list. It hasn’t been too bad, but I want to work on carving time out to really devote toΒ my BuJo.
  • Work on my life habits & studies|| During showtime, habits get crazy, so I’d like to work on them.
  • Lastly, I want to try to keep up my creativity, ask questions, and dig deeper into topics in my everyday life. πŸ™‚

Phew! This could be the longest post I’ve ever made. Hopefully you survived – and enjoyed it! πŸ˜€

And here’s the Book Madness link you’ve waited so patiently for: *glares at skimmers*

BOOK MADNESS

talk-to-me

How wasΒ your month? Good or bad? Are you excited for April? Are you participating in NaPo or Camp NaNo? Did you enjoy this post – the new formatting and graphics?
Spill, dearies!

signoff

83 thoughts on “March 2017 Recap & April Goals + Book Madness FINALE

  1. Ooh, great post, my friend! I LOVE LONG POSTS and the formatting is really neat. plus LIZZY AND DARCY OH MY GOSHHHHH I LOVE THEM and they’re just so savage omg πŸ˜„

    I really like your graphics and featured image! They’ve come a long way for sure . . . YOUR BLOG IS GETTING MORE FANTABULOUS WITH EVERY POST! And Camp NaNo . . . I just *might* be procrastinating in getting those daily words in and then there’s Josie who’s like THREE DAYS INTO APRIL WITH 20K WORDS WAHT.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Wait a smidgen… if a person was blind, they wouldn’t be able to read the list of your books. Flawed logic, Grace! 😢

    Good post otherwise, tho. πŸ˜‰

    IzzyπŸ’œ

    authorspresssite.wordpress.com

    Liked by 2 people

  3. This was awesome! Now, here’s the answers to your questions:
    How was your month? Good or bad? Pretty good!
    Are you excited for April? Yes! It is a busy month though.
    Are you participating in NaPo or Camp NaNo? No, but I will be most likely participating in NaNoWriMo in November!
    Did you enjoy this post – the new formatting and graphics? Yes!

    Liked by 2 people

  4. Ooh, this was quite fun to read, Grace! πŸ˜€
    β€’ (Look at me, all fancy with the bullet points in my comment. πŸ˜„ ) I DO like your featured image! So pretty! If I had to change one thing, maybe I would make the words blue instead of pink so it matches better with your blog, but on the other hand if things are too matchy-matchy that isn’t good either. So yeah, I like it! πŸ˜€
    β€’ BOOKS! Ooh, I’ve read most of the ones you read this month. πŸ™‚ I’ve read The Extraordinary Education of Nicholas Benedict, The Penderwicks, Anne of Ingleside, Pride and Prejudice, Alice in Wonderland, and Rainbow Valley. πŸ™‚ I agree! I liked Pride and Prejudice too, even if it was a bit confusing and boring at the beginning.
    β€’ Aww, I’m glad you liked my post! YES COME OVER AND HAVE SOME THEY ARE SO YUMMY!
    β€’ And lastly but not leastly, I liked the layout of this post with the graphics and stuff! πŸ˜€

    Liked by 2 people

    • I’m very glad! πŸ˜€ (*whistles* Look at you… πŸ˜„ ) Thanks for the feedback! πŸ˜€
      YAY! That’s so neat that we’ve read the same books. (Why did that sound so sappy? *facepalm* πŸ˜„ πŸ˜› πŸ˜‰ )
      YAY AGAIN! *dreams of glazed donut goodness* Donuts or no, I still need to come over. πŸ™‚
      Thanks, and thanks for your comment! Good to hear from ya. πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Great post!
    March was good *tries to remember what I did* πŸ˜„ lol. My drama group put on our show in March; it was so fun!!
    I am excited for April! I’m participating in Camp Nano, and enjoying it. I stayed out of cabins this time though (which may be a mistake πŸ˜„ ) because I hadn’t originally planned to do nano in April, but I’m glad I am. I also plan to do it in July, but hopefully with a higher goal (my goal this month is 10,000 words, and hopefully a ways past. It’s a start!)
    Ooh, I’ve been bullet journaling (thanks to your post on it!), and it’s been really nice! Good luck with yours!
    What did you think of the Extraordinary Education of Nicholas Benedict?
    I voted! I chose MBS, although I felt a little unfair to Narnia, because I’ve never read it, and it’s probably very good, too… Oh well. πŸ˜„
    I hope you have a great April!
    ~Gracie

    Liked by 2 people

    • Thanks, Gracie! πŸ˜€ Haha, same here! It was hard to think of things for the moments of the month graphic. πŸ˜„
      Wow, that sounds really fun! What play was it, and what did you play?
      And good luck with Camp! I started with 10K for my very first NaNo too, and I think it’s a great start. πŸ™‚
      Wow – I inspired you to bullet journal? That is SO amazing! Thanks, and same to you!
      I enjoyed EEoNB, but it wasn’t my favorite. I thought a lot of the things in it weren’t very realistic. :\
      Haha! πŸ˜„
      Thanks very much, Gracie!

      Liked by 1 person

      • You’re welcome! Haha, yeah πŸ˜„
        It was basically a show full of choreography and music from famous musicals (Such as Annie, Sound of Music, Oliver, etc.). I sang Tomorrow (Annie) and Somewhere over the Rainbow, and also did choreography and singing in the group numbers. It was really fun!
        Thanks!
        Yes, you did! πŸ˜€
        Ok, good to know, thanks! (Ooh, that’s a much better way to put the title! πŸ˜„ It’s so long otherwise)
        You’re welcome!
        ~Gracie

        Liked by 1 person

      • P.S. I was just at our youth pastor’s house for a Bible study, and I saw This Changes Everything on their coffee table! πŸ˜„ I was kind of amazed/dejavu to see it there after just seeing you shout it out on your blog! LOL

        Liked by 1 person

  6. Fantastic post, Grace! Who did you play in Alice in Wonderland? Was it with your school? Isn’t theatre wonderful? Right now I’m playing Wendy in Peter Pan. It is by far my favorite role I’ve ever played.
    Was this your first time reading the Penderwicks? It is one of my all time favorite books. They way it written makes it feel like summer. That’s a great amount of books. Even when I’m not busy my top amount is typically seven per month.

    Sorry for the long comment! I hope you have a wonderful April!

    Liked by 2 people

  7. YAY! YOU READ THE PENDERWICKS! Did you like it?? I’ve read The Unwanteds. The first book is incredible, the second book is okay, and then it just kinda goes downhill from there. :/ I really loved the first one, though! πŸ˜€
    My month was pretty good! Some highlights were that my big sister had a birthday, spring hit in full force, and I finally created Poesy. (Thank you for linking to my post about her, by the way!)
    I’m doing NaPo for the first time this month. So far, so good! πŸ˜€
    I like the new graphics! They’re very pretty. πŸ™‚

    -Clara ❀

    Liked by 2 people

    • I SURE DID! And I thought it was pretty good. Not my favorite book, but pretty good. πŸ™‚
      aw, that’s sad about the Unwanteds. I hate it when that happens to a series. But the first one is really good so far! πŸ˜€
      That sounds awesome! (I didn’t know you had an older sister. πŸ˜‰ ) and you’re very welcome. πŸ™‚
      Same here! Good luck! πŸ˜€ And thanks very much for your comment. πŸ™‚

      Liked by 2 people

  8. For some reason I was just REALLY EXCITED TO READ THIS POST. I mean, it was amazing, but it was this level of ridiculous excitement??? πŸ˜„ Okay I have lots to say but I forgot most of it so let’s see what I remember:
    SQUEE THAT GRAPHIC IS GORGEOUS!!! You’re definitely getting better, ma fren. πŸ˜‰ (Not that you graphics before were bad. πŸ˜„ )
    Ooh, yes! I remember reading the Unwanteds. It was a tiiiiiny bit slow for me, and I remember thinking that it said “said” too much. πŸ˜„ I read a “kid” version of P&P so I need to read the actual version??? But I got the gist of it. πŸ˜„
    OMG NEW STORY IDEA TELL ME MOOOOOOORE *falls to knees* *begs* I am a queen; I do not beg??? What have you done???
    I very much enjoyed this posts and its graphics and its formatting. Lovely job, Grace girl!

    Liked by 1 person

  9. yes, happy april! πŸ˜„
    How was your month? Good or bad? well there was some anticipation waiting for the best month, named after the best person… jk πŸ˜„
    Are you excited for April? um, of course! april fools was great. πŸ˜€
    Are you participating in NaPo or Camp NaNo?both… why do i do this to myself?
    Did you enjoy this post – the new formatting and graphics? yes i love it! and what do you mean semi-decent… i think you must have typoed amazing!

    Liked by 1 person

  10. How was your month? Good or bad?: It was pretty eh. Good and bad and bad and good … I wish I’d accomplished more, but that’s okay. πŸ™‚

    Are you excited for April?: YES!

    Are you participating in NaPo or Camp NaNo?: I’m participating in Camp NaNo. I wish I was participating in NaPo, but I decided it would be too stressful to add something extra on.

    Did you enjoy this post – the new formatting and graphics?: I did! It’s really neat and tidy. And the graphics are pretty. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  11. I love the Penderwicks! I’ve read the whole series and am waiting for the fifth and final book. Which is your favourite sister? I like Skye and Jane. I also enjoyed reading Pride and Predjudice. I love Lizzy, she is quite a similar character to me actually. Good luck on all your April Goals.
    Gracie πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  12. My march was bad! I was so unproductive in terms of blogging because SCHOOL was taking over my life. UGH, THE STRESS — but now I got holidays SO WOOHOO! Of course, I’m excited for April. It’s my holidays and I’m basking in the freedom. I’m participating in NaPo! I’ve done it every day so far but need to upload my notebook poems to the blog. I loved this post and the formatting and graphics were awesome! Good luck with this month!

    Liked by 1 person

  13. AHHH WIN MBS! πŸ˜„ Although I kinda wish it would have been LotR against the MBS. BUT OH WELL.
    Anyway, you read a lot more books than I did! I don’t have anything to read… sniff. I’ll probably re-read something.
    I love the font you used in your new design!
    ~Megan~

    Liked by 1 person

  14. YAY, monthly recaps! LOL yes I know the struggle with featured images: FONTS AND COLOURS AND STUFF.

    Out of the Dust is SO GOOD, amiright? It did take me a couple of rereads to really appreciate it, though.

    Liked by 1 person

  15. The image you designed is great! I doubt I could even do that since I don’t know how to add the transparent background onto images… then again, I do use the basic paint on my computer so… πŸ˜›

    Liked by 1 person

  16. I dare you to comment this on Clara’s latest post… {mwahaha a dare}
    “HALP CLARA I’M BEING CHASED BY A UNICORN! IT HAS A POINTY HORN OH HALP! *jumps on Clara’s back* TAKE ME AWAY!”
    Nothing more, nothing less. And if she asks, a I may or may not have dared you… πŸ˜„ {mwahaha} LOL!

    Liked by 2 people

  17. Ooh, it sounds like you’ve had such a great month! Also, I love your featured image! Wayyy better than my I-wouldn’t-call-them-skills, I’ll say. ;D

    I hope you’re ready for answers to all of your questions! *rubs hands evilly*

    How was your month? Good or bad? Aye, March? It was absolutely wondrous. My missionary friend came back, I wrote 52k, I finished the NT, and — oh my, how could I forget? YOU HELPED ME WITH MY BLOG LAUNCH PART ON MARCH 2ND SQUEEEEE.

    Are you excited for April? Excited would be an understatement! It kicked off with the best day I’ve had this year so far! πŸ˜€

    Are you participating in NaPo or Camp NaNo? Yes! I’m participating in Camp NaNo and am already a third of the way done with my goal! SO EXCITED.

    Did you enjoy this post – the new formatting and graphics? Why, yes, yes I did! ;D I love all of your posts. πŸ˜‰ But goodness, the formatting and graphics were so organized and beautiful! I loved them!

    Happy April, Grace! I hope you’re able to accomplish everything that’s in your heart to do this month! ❀️

    Madi

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks, very much…I did! πŸ˜€ LOL! πŸ˜„ And your featured images look great! πŸ˜›
      Heehee! I always look forward to your questions. xD
      YAY! March was an awesome month indeed. *nods*
      Haha! Did you play any pranks? (My bro and I put plastic wrap over the toilet. πŸ˜› )
      AWESOME! Good luck, dear!
      And thanks for your feedback! You’re so sweet. πŸ™‚
      Thanks again, and same to you! You’re da best. ❀

      Liked by 1 person

Talk to Me!

