Grace’s Epic Return + FOCUS {April Edition} + Book Madness Winner!

HERE COMES THE GENERAL
. *confetti canons* *crowds cheering* *waves at adoring fans*

Yes, I have finally returned from my trip to see Matilda the Musical! Some of you “heard from me” sooner than others, since I couldn’t bear to leave you guys for too long, but I’m finally back in all of my glory!
For my readers as of April 2017, you know from my last post that I went on a hiatus. I have deleted that post because it was terrible and cringy, so future readers won’t know what I’m talking about. But I have finally returned from my week-long break and am back in full glory!

graces-epic-return-graphic2.png

In today’s post, other than celebrating my return, I’ll be answering the questions to Allie Taylor’s bi-monthly FOCUS link-up, as well as announcing the winners of Book Madness! 😀

We’re halfway through Camp NaNo. How’s you’re novel going?

I’m not actually doing a novel for Camp. *horrific gasps* Instead, I am killing two birds with one stone and doing NaPoWriMo for Camp NaNo. And it’s going great! I just averaged up my poems and entered in my official wordcount goal, and feeling pretty good! 😀

Where are you struggling the most in your writing?

Two things. First, I’m struggling with getting myself to actually write. It sounds silly, but when it’s just a simple poem to write, I end up putting it off and being like, “Oh yeah, we has plenty of time.” Another problem of mine is trying to figure out what my poems should be about. NaPo provides prompts, but half of them I don’t really like so I’m just like “WHADDA WE WRITE ABOUT?”

Why am I being all Gollum all of the sudden???

Where are you doing the best in your writing?

As the month has progressed, (I think) I’ve gotten really good at making my poems sound and flow good. Idk.

Music helps. So, what are your writerly idyllic tunes?

Not us, not us. *shakes head* I am one of those writers who can’t stand listening to music while I write. Music inspires me, but I’ve tried writing whilst listening to it and I get terribly distracted. :\

Where are you in your wordcount goal?

I just calculated my goal today (find the average words in each of my poems and multiply by 30), and it’s 2100. Very small, but my main goal is to just write a poem each day. And I’m pretty close to my goal! If after I have written 30 poems and I’m still not there, I’ll just copy and paste to validate. 😉

What encourages you to keep writing?

Reading. I’ve been reading non-stop lately (sacrificing some sleep, of course) – mainly The Unwanteds series (BOOK 6 BABY) – and books, that series in particular, spark ideas for other stories. The Young Writers(‘s) Workshop I’m in is also motivating. 🙂

What’s your strategy for focusing?

HA HA HA. *cries from laughter* It’s hard for me to focus (#internet), but I usually go outside or somewhere private and quiet where I’m alone with my thoughts.

What’s your favorite poem you’ve written?

(NOTE: I changed this question – it was originally my favorite part about my novel)

I have two:

>>>> <<<<

{4-12-17}

In Between

I am stuck
In a world in between
Imagination and
Reality.
Half of me is holding fast to the real world
While the other is running wild and free.
And I can’t help but wonder
Which world is right
For me.

>>>> <<<<

{4-17-17}

Drowning

i’m drowning
no way up
no way out
walls closing in
from all directions.
how do I escape?
where do I look?
who will save me?
i’ve fallen so deep
it seems i’ll
never make it back
i try to have faith
to trust in Him
but i’m scared
afraid of failing
afraid of drowning
afraid of there being
no way out.

>>>> <<<<

What is your plan after your first draft?

I’m going to begin brainstorming/plotting a novel, and begin a smaller project about a boy with cancer that’s told through poems. I’m super excited! Since I don’t have to do much plotting and can kinda write a poem about whatever, it shouldn’t take too long. *knock on wood* 😉

Thanks to Allie for hosting this lovely link-up! Visit her blog, The Depth of My Faith to participate in FOCUS and other awesomeness. 🙂


📕 Next up is the WINNER of Book Madness! 📕

But before I do that, I’d like to thank all of you amazing bibliophiles who voted for the winner of the first-annual Book Madness! You guys are the best, even if MBS beat LOTR. *sigh*

The winner of 2017’s Book Madness is…

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

Image result for the lion the witch and the wardrobe book

The Lion, The Witch, and The Wardrobe!

Once again, thanks s’much for voting, everyone! I had a blast, and I hope you did, too. 🙂

talk-to-me

Did you miss me? Are you glad I’m back? How did you survive my hiatus?
How’d you like my FOCUS answers? How’s camp going for you?
Did you want TLTW&TW to win? If not, which one? Did you enjoy BM? Are you excited for next year?

Also…how do you like my new header? Credit to Liv @ Liv A Little for the inspiration/design tips! 😘

signoff

88 thoughts on “Grace’s Epic Return + FOCUS {April Edition} + Book Madness Winner!

  1. *hugs* GRACE, YOU’RE BACK!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I CAN’T EVEn. GAH YOU HAVE RETURENED.
    I SO wanted The Lion, The Witch and The Wardrobe to win so YAS! Loved your poems ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Welllll I just posted a very rambly comment about Camp and such on your last post, so you know how that’s going. XD And same here — I love music, but I write best bc I get distracted. I’ll be sitting there and then all of a sudden I’m singing along WHAT IS THIS MADNESS. XDD

    Anywho, great post, Grace! Hmm . . . I did like the old font better than this one — Magnolia Sky is too curlicue-like for me — but its obviously your decision, so you do whatever you want.

    YOU MUST JOIN OUR CABIN FOR JULY, DEAR. WE’RE HAVING SO MUCH FUN AND I WISH YOU WERE IN IT (i mean, only if you want to be in it, of course XD).

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Welcome back! I hope you had a great time on your trip!
    Nano… DX I set my goal for 10,000 words and I’m behind. But I’m still going for it and am super glad to be in camp! And I think I can do it! (Besides, before Nano and a little bit of prep I basically wrote… never, or on random writing spurts (maybe once a year), besides for school and blogging.) 🙂
    Alright! I’ve picked up TLW&W(I’ll go with that… 😉 ) off my bookshelf! I was wondering, have you ever read Narnia, and if so should I read the Magician’s Nephew first?
    I did enjoy Book Madness! 🙂
    ~Gracie

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks, Gracie! It was fun. 🙂 Good luck in Camp! You got this. 😉 😛 😀
      Yep, I’ve read all of the Narnia books. I don’t really think it matters…we read them in the order they were published, but I don’t think it matters, as I just said. 😛 XD

      Like

  4. First of all OMGGGGGG I LOVE YOUR NEW HEADER! Your featured image looks wonderful. 😉 And GASP are you on a Mac or something??? Or Windows? Because I use the Snipping Tool for screenshotting on my Dell computer and I JUST ASSUME EVERYONE HAS APPLE WHICH I REALLY DON’T LIKE. XDD

    Hmm, have you made an account on PicMonkey? That’s the only way to download your images now. :/

    AYYYY HIGH FIVE FOR NO MUSIC! I used to be able to listen to music while writing, but then I started listening to Hamilton and I got distracted. XD I can tune it out sometimes though??? Now I just use it for inspiration (and barely, at that) and if I DO listen to music while writing, it’s instrumental.

    Hahaha… I’ve never read Narnia before… *hides* My childhood consisted of Junie B. Jones, Cam Jansen, and the Rainbow Fairies series.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Grace, I was wondering, how do you make that little rectangle translucent thingy where the text is on your graphics? I’ve been wondering how for a while, and now I’m desperate to know. I don’t know what exactly it is called though.
    YAY NARNIAAAAAA

    Liked by 1 person

  6. YOU’RE BACK! 😀 ♥♥♥
    Ooh, I like your poems, Grace!
    YAY The Chronicles of Narnia won! I would have said the same thing if The Mysterious Benedict Society won because MAN that was a hard choice. They’re pretty much tied for me (and I didn’t even vote it was so hard XD).
    And ooh, I love your header! It’s so pretty. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Yaaayyy, you’re back! Sorry I don’t have any confetti… *throws pillow stuffing all over* I’m getting started on Narnia, and I’m guessing it’ll be quite good (judging by this post). I’m planning to do FOCUS in a while, and I’m glad I’m not the only one doing just NaPo this month. 🙂

    Like

  8. There’s a kindness in God’s mercy like the wideness of the sea,
    There is kindness in His justice which is more than liberty.
    For the love of God is broader than the measure of man’s mind,
    And the heart of the Eternal is most wonderfully kind.

    {By Frederick William Faber}

    Happy Poem In Your Pocket Day, Grace! 😉

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Did you miss me? Does a Madison Lorfing stay up until 3 AM on a daily basis? Wait a second In other words, DUH! XD

    Are you glad I’m back? YESSS *hugs Grace*

    How did you survive my hiatus? I DIDN’T I ALMOST DIED

    How’d you like my FOCUS answers? Why, I loved them, dear! 😉

    How’s camp going for you? I finished before winning started and just overachieving. I still have more work to do for plotting book II, but I exceeded my goal, so I’m happy!

    Did you want TLTW&TW to win? If not, which one? Yes, I did! *laughs at the crazy long acronym*

    Did you enjoy BM? Are you excited for next year? Yessireebob! It was really fun to vote for the books!

    Welcome back, Grace!

    Madi

    Liked by 1 person

Talk to Me!

