April Recap & May Goals + 200+ Follower Q&A

Hello everyone, and Happy May! πŸ˜€ look May it’s your month I hope you all had a great spring/Camp NaNoWriMo/NaPoWriMo/April! XD My April went pretty well, and I’m here today to give you an in-depth recap of the month and all of its happenings. πŸ˜‰

april-recap-graphicI legit had no idea what colors to make for this. It also ended up looking too much like my Epic Return graphic. Oh well. :\ πŸ˜› XD

  • Spring begins! || The warm spring weather finally settled down and decided to stay until fall. πŸ˜‰
  • Participating in NaPoWriMo & Camp NaNoWriMo || #winner
  • Watching the 40th-Anniversary Star Wars Convention!Β || I’d never watched the Star Wars Convention before, and I loved it! And THEY ALSO REALEASED THE TEASER TRAILER FOR #8 AND IT IS SO EPIC AND I CAN’T EVEN *dies*
  • GoingΒ to see MatildaΒ || I had a wonderful trip to see the Broadway musical, Matilda!Β It was an amazing show and I loved the experience. πŸ™‚
  • Attending a three-day dance retreat || IΒ had the privilege to be able to attend a nearby dance retreat and had an amazing time! I’m also super sore… XD

So I haveΒ officially readΒ an entire series in one month. *pats self on back*Β I read 12 books this month (some were short though), and overall fed my inner bibliophile. πŸ˜‰

covers via goodreads

The Unwanteds by Lisa McMannΒ Island of Silence by Lisa McMannΒ Star Turns by Amelia DerezinzkiΒ Life in Motion by Misty CopelandΒ Island of Legends by Lisa McMannΒ Island of Shipwrecks by Lisa McMannΒ Island of Fire by Lisa McMannΒ Island of Graves by Lisa McMannΒ A Wrinkle in Time by Madeleine L'EngleΒ Firebird by Misty CopelandΒ Island of Dragons by Lisa McMannΒ The Shadow of the Bear by Regina Doman

  • The Unwanteds Series (The Unwanteds; The Unwanteds: Island of Silence; The Unwanteds: Island of Legends; The Unwanteds: Island of Shipwrecks;Β The Unwanteds: Island of Fire;Β The Unwanteds: Island of Graves;Β The Unwanteds: Island of Dragons) byΒ Lisa McMann
  • Star Turns: Dancing on BroadwayΒ byΒ Amelia Derezinzki
  • Life in Motion: An Unlikely BallerinaΒ byΒ Misty Copeland
  • Firebird byΒ Misty Copeland
  • A Wrinkle in Time byΒ Madeline L’Engle
  • The Shadow of the Bear byΒ Regina Doman

|| favorite book ||

The Unwanteds Series. Like, guys – SO GOOD! I absolutely loved this series and legit devoured it. I’m also super excited to read the sequel series, The Unwanteds Quests! Β also both Aaron and Alex are adorable so how do I choose?

|| least favorite book ||

The Shadow of the Bear. The style and formatting of this book seemed more like an amateur, self-published novel, but the story was pretty good. It was pretty violent though, and I wasn’t the biggest fan.
(But thanks to Bella for lending it to me! That was super sweet.

  • I re-designed my blog. Again.Β no comment
  • I improved my graphic design. I’m definitely not a pro, but I’m getting better and managed to…
  • I designed new featured imagesΒ for my posts! If you scroll back through my posts, you’ll be able to see all of them. [And if you’re new, drop a throwback-comment! πŸ˜€ ]

|| my posts ||

I went on a week-long hiatus this month to seeΒ Matilda the Musical, so I didn’t have much time to post. I did a hiatus post as well, but decided to delete it because it wasn’t the quality I wanted.
Still, here are the posts from last month:

My writing life wasn’t as good as last month – pretty low key and casual, but I still completed NaPoWriMo and am excited for the coming months. πŸ™‚

  • IΒ completed Camp NaNoWriMo & NaPoWriMo!Β Spoiler for last month’s goals, but I did it! πŸ˜€
  • I gotΒ even more story ideas! Some of you are probably super hopeful that I’ll share, and others are glaring because they know I won’t. Welp, you’re right. #nope
    [but once i make my new blog, i should be able to share more. πŸ™‚ ]

uh oh

  • Complete Camp NaNoWriMo & NaPoWriMoΒ Β βœ“
    Yay! I also might be doing a Favorites of NaPoWriMo post = SNIPPETS, so stay tuned [and in the meantime check out my poems]!
  • Work on my new story idea  ㄨ
    I didn’t do this this month, after I realized that NaPoWriMo was enough and I needed to practice poems before I started writing them, and also focus on NaPo. But I plan on doing this during May and I am very excited! πŸ˜€
  • Get back to my blogging schedule ㄨ
    Nope, considering I went on hiatus. πŸ˜›
  • Fix my pages and finalize my blog designΒ βœ“
    Yup! πŸ˜€

And the rest of them – which is only a few – either got cancelled, life got in the way, etc.

As you can see, I did pretty bad on my goals this month. I also didn’t do a good job of checking in with my goals and seeing how my progress was, so there’s that. But I’m looking forward to making May a super productive month! πŸ˜€

READING

  • Read three Newberry Winners

One of themΒ has to be one I don’t want to read. πŸ˜›

WRITING

  • Join one (or more) small group(s) in the YWWC
    In the Young Writer’s Workshop I’m in, there’s a Community site where writers can interact with each other. They have small groups, where writers with the same interests can chat and ask for feedback and accountability. I still haven’t joined a small group, and I want/need to. πŸ˜‰
  • Make master poem list & begin writing
    Now that NaPoWriMo is over, I want to get started on my story told through poetry, about a boy with cancer.

BLOGGING

  • Design my new blog
    *GASP*Β What have I just read? Is Grace leaving us? What is she up to?Β 
    Don’t worry guys, I’m not leaving you all. But I have some exciting plans for TGU, so sit tight andΒ try not to die from anticipation. XD

LIFE

  • Work on pretty-ing my bujo
    I’ve never really focused much on aesthetics when it comes to my bujo – #distracting – but I’d like to work on a few things to make it look prettier.

My goals this month are pretty simple and not super complex, but that’s how ya get stuff done, amirite?


Now, for the next part of this post — my 200+ Follower Q&A!
Back when the grass was green – aka when I got 50 followers – I announced that I was going to do a Q&A. But I ended up never doing so. Now that I’ve gained over 200 followers (thank you guys SO much!), I thought it would be fun to do another one, and now that I have more followers, there will be more questions to answer.

You can either comment on this post only or use the contact form below. Please leave no more than 5 questions per user. And if you’re justΒ bursting to ask me questions, I’ll allow for 7. (But remember that I still may not be able to answer some.)

In a week or so, I’ll post my answers to your questions! I’m super excited, so ask away! πŸ˜€

That concludes today’s post! Thanks so much for reading, and have a lovely week. ❀

talk-to-me
I promise I’ll re-design this soon.

How was your April? How did Camp/NaPo go for you?
What are your goals for May? What are you looking forward to?
Are you excited for my Q&A? How long have you been following TGU?

signoff
This too. πŸ˜‰

56 thoughts on “April Recap & May Goals + 200+ Follower Q&A

  1. What is your favorite part about blogging?
    What are some of your very favorite books *very hardest question ever*?
    How long have you been blogging (I’m too lazy to find your first post)?
    No other questions are coming to my mind right now… πŸ˜›
    BYE!! #noideawhyijustdidthat

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I THINK I KNOOW WHAT THE EXCITING THING FOR TGU ISSSS XD
    Oooh… *rubs hands together* Question time!

    1. What’s the most annoying thing you’ve ever done?
    2. On a scale of 1-10, how much did you not want to answer the previous question?
    3. If you could meet any one person tomorrow, who would you want to meet?
    4. Do you have any weird habits?
    5. What is the first color that comes to mind when you hear the word “angry”?
    6. Least favorite movie?
    7. Google or Bing?
    8. What was the last time you were wearing a hat and why were you wearing it?
    9. What’s your favorite way to style your hair?
    10. Can you snap your fingers?

    Have fun! πŸ˜‰

    -Clara ❀

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Wait, what? A new blog??? I am officially very curious. Yay, 200 followers! That’s a big deal. I love your graphics. They look quite professional. Where/how do you edit them? And do you take the photos? You read so many books! I’ll consider checking out the Unwanteds. It sounds really good.

    Here are my questions for your Q&A:
    1. What made you start blogging?
    2. How many siblings do you have?
    3. Have you ever considered giving up blogging?

    ~ Pip and Lolly

    Liked by 1 person

  4. yay spring! and May! and BIGGEST YAY BECAUSE THE SCHOOL YEAR IS ENDING IN A LITTLE MORE THAN A MONTH FOR ME. although I’m not looking forward to finals. just saying. XDD

    I’M SO EXCITED FOR YOUR NEW BLOG I CAN’T EVEN. If there’s any way at all I can help, do let me know! πŸ˜€ also what is this story idea??? I MUST KNOW, DEAR. I’LL EVEN SEND YOU MY BLURBS AND MOCK COVERS FOR MY APRIL AND JULY PROJECTS *puppy dog eyes*

    Liked by 1 person

    • Agh, and I forgot to leave some questions for your Q&A! How could I?! *gasps*
      Annnnd the hypothetical-situation-question-version-of-Sarah has engaged.
      1. YOU’RE GOING ON AN ADVENTURE! (please tell me someone got that . . . looking at you, Chloe XD) Thinking practically and strategically, which 8 book characters do you choose as the other members of your fellowship?
      2. Let’s say that you’re going to be trapped in a room with one person for the next 365 days without anyone else to keep you company. Luckily, you can choose that person! The catch is that it has to be a villain from a YA book or classical lit. Which villain do you choose? (heh heh heh I’m evil)
      3. You find yourself smack-dab in the middle of a book’s world without warning or preparation. You’re not quipped with any weapons, food, or companions. Would you rather be caught in the middle of Narnia’s battle with Jadis, with Gollum and Bilbo (playing a life or death game of riddles), or in the Learning Institute for the Very Enlightened (alone!! with no friends!! at the school of Ledroptha Curtain!! halp!!)?
      4. Favorite color? (because somehow I don’t know this about you howww)
      5. Would you rather be best friends with a) ANGELICAAAAAAA (yas my womens’ rights girl) b) ELIZAAAAA (she’s such a sweetheart i can’t even) c) AND PEGGYYYY (who is completely underappreciated and apparently once defended the house from robbers?? like you go girl) d) A DOT HAM (enough said) e) A DOT BURR (my poor little Burr was only waiting for it) f) or LAFAYETTE! (imtakinthishorsebythereinsmakingredcoatsredderwithbloodstainslafayette)

      *reads back over comment* Dang. None of that even made sense but OH WELL.

      Liked by 2 people

      • HOORAY FOR YOU!!! πŸ˜€ Good luck in finals, my fren, and do try to survive until school is over. XD

        YAY I’M SO GLAD THAT YOU’RE EXCITED!!! I’m hoping it’s going to be pretty good. And I’ll be sure to contact you! πŸ˜€
        And DON’T WORRY – on my new blog I’ll be able to actually copyright things under my real name, so I’ll be sure to share more with you guys. πŸ˜‰ (And we are SO getting a cabin together this July!)

        and GAH WHY ARE YOUR QUESTIONS SO HARD??? *whimpers* But seriously – me loves them! Thanks dearie! πŸ˜€

        Liked by 1 person

      • Haha, thanks! I shall tryyy. ALTHOUGH I MAKE NO PROMISES. FINALS ARE FINALS. πŸ˜‚

        YAYAYAY!! That’s awesome! (AND YES WE TOTALLY MUST.)

        πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚ Can’t wait to see your answers!

        Liked by 1 person

  5. New blog?! *ears perk* Grace, what’s going on? *nudges* Really, I need to know!

    How was your April? How did Camp/NaPo go for you?: Camp went really well for me! Better than I thought it would. And I swear I’m going to do NaPo next year. I’ll have to remember …

    What are your goals for May? What are you looking forward to?: I’m looking forward to my cover reveal and getting all set up for the release of my novels. But most of all I’m excited for order proof copies and sharing them with my friends. πŸ™‚

    Are you excited for my Q&A? How long have you been following TGU?: I am! I can’t think of any good questions, but if I think of one, I’ll pop back over here and ask it. And … I feel like I’ve been following you for a long time because I’ve known you around the blogoverse, but I think I’ve only been following your blog … six months? Less?

    Like

  6. OMG OMG OMG NEW BLOG NEW BLOG (is this what you were emailing me about???) And haha yes it is MY MOOOOOONTH AND IT’S GONNA ROCK WHOOP WHOOP. Yes, pretty that BuJo and share it for all to see! PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE TELL ME A LITTLE BIT MORE OF YOUR STORY IDEAS (or at least one). And aaaggghhh dance retreats are the best. ❀ I see Queen Misty Copeland!!! And haha I really got bored of The Unwanteds. πŸ˜› I bought it with KOTLC, so maybe KOTLC was just too amazing??? XD OMG YOUR GRAPHICS ARE LOOKING AWESOME, GIRLIE. And the collage you did. πŸ˜‰ And congrats on 200! *throws confetti*

    – What do you mean by new blog???
    – What are you story ideas???
    (okay now for the questions you'll actually answer XD )
    – What is one thing that you want to leave in this world after you're gone? (ie. a LEGACY???)
    – What are some of your hobbies and why do you love them?
    – Why do you blog? What do you like and dislike about it?

    LOVE YA. ❀

    Liked by 1 person

    • YAYYY! (Yup! πŸ˜€ ) Aw thank you!! That’s so sweet. πŸ™‚
      *tsk tsk* As I told Sarah, on my blog I’ll be able to copyright things in my real name, and I’ll definitely be sharing my ideas. Plus *cough cough* if we get in a Camp cabin together, I’ll be sharing snippets!! πŸ˜€ And yes they are! There was actually a teacher there who TAUGHT MISTY COPELAND. *freaks out*
      And thanks so much for the questions! This comment is getting super cringy so I’ll just stop now. XD

      Liked by 1 person

      • Yeah, copyrighting isn’t exactly “legal” with my pen name lol. But I trust people??? Maybe??? And EEK CABINMATE 😍😍 I’ll honestly end up making another Camp account because I have some NaNo friends that I’m close with, but also you blogger friends! OMG THAT IS SO COOL DID YOU GET HER AUTOGRAPH??? HOW FIND YOU NOT DIE FROM EXTREME FANGIRLING???

        Like

  7. Questions for Q&A:
    What is your favorite movie?
    Have you ever been on a rollercoaster that went upside-down?
    What do you like about 1950s fashion?
    What was the happiest day in your life like?
    Would you rather find a secret door in your attic or a downward staircase in a tree?
    – Megan Joy

    Liked by 1 person

  8. My April went quite well! NaPo was a success… Except for the fact that I missed two days thanks to my epic poet’s block. Sigh…
    Did loads of art, a decent bit of reading and writing, and blogging was fine. Had a good Poem in Your Pocket Day. That’s April for you.
    P.S: Happy new month!

    Liked by 1 person

  9. It’s May’s Month!!! I did Napo and #won but haven’t uploaded all my poems to my blog yet. #oops. Spring is awesome but the weather is not too amazing just yet. It’s always changing. I watched Rogue One this month and that’s the only Star wars thing I’ve watched and it was okay?? Congratulations on reading SO MANY books, I only read 5 *weeps*. I love you re-design!!! It’s wonderful. And your graphic design is definitely improving. I love your new featured images, so aesthetically pleasing! You’re making a new blog??? TELL ME MORE.I hope you do favourites of NaPoWriMo poems with snippets – that would be awesome. I want to pretty my BuJo but right now, being so busy, I’m putting productive over pretty. I’ve just started properly using my BuJo and I love it, so I need to get used to being so regular. I don’t think I could live up to the wonderful Bullet Journals I see on Pinterest #goals.
    April was a pretty decent month I guess and I did NaPoWriMo and wrote more posts so I guess that was great. My goals for May is MORE BOOKS and MORE BLOGGING and catching up with my design requests *Drowns* I’m so excited for your Q/A!!! (questions below) I think I’ve been following you for like 7 months now???

    1) What’s your favourite book genre>
    2)What’s your biggest regret?
    3)If you had to choose your best day of your life, what would it be?
    4) If you could choose any season to live in forever, what would you choose?
    5)Do you like white chocolate (because if you don’t, there’s some serious stuff to sort out)

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yay! Great job with NaPo! I can’t wait to read your poems. πŸ™‚ And YAY for Star Wars! You need to watch the rest! (Though Rogue One is legit one of the best.) And thanks! I’m really glad you like it. YES I AM! And don’t worry, you’ll here more about it soon. πŸ˜‰ I know right? But at the same time, all the pretty-ness kinda distracts me from what I’m trying to get done, so… πŸ˜‰
      Thanks for the questions and the amazingly-long comment! πŸ˜€

      Liked by 1 person

  10. My April was good! I won Nano (*whoops and dances ecstatically*), even though I procrastinated and had to write until about 11:30 the on the last night… XD . And as for May goals… um… I might need to think about that one…. XD
    Alrighty, here are some questions!! {Congratulations on 200+ followers!! πŸ˜€ }
    β€’ What is your favorite spot on your house/property?
    β€’ What is your favorite quote/verse/stanza/saying and why?
    β€’ Would you rather have to dance everywhere or hop everywhere?
    β€’ If you were stuck with one type of shoe for the rest of your life, what kind would you choose (sandal, tennis shoe, flats, etc.)?
    β€’ Do you like math?
    Ah, look, I did five! Yay! That was fun to think up!
    ~Gracie

    Like

  11. If you could start a blogging campaign with one person, who would it be and what would the campaign focus on?

    What song could you sing for eternity?

    What is your motto?

    What is one memory you’d never want to lose?

    How has blogging changed you? Positively? Negatively?

    Will send some more when I think of them. Xxxx

    Liked by 1 person

  12. Good gracious, I still haven’t commented on this yet?! *Smacks self* XD XD XD
    Annyway, OOH BOOKS! The Unwanteds sounds interesting! Do you think I would like it or not especially? Ha ha, yeah… it seems like Newberry Medal books are always rather weird. XD Oh. Oops, that probably wasn’t very encouraging. XD
    Moving on… OH YES! I cannot WAIT to see your new blog! *Mysterious grin because I know some of your secret plans* πŸ˜› XD
    Ooh, if your BuJo turns out well, I’d love to see a post on that! I want to get one soon, hopefully. πŸ™‚
    Also OOH YAY Q&A! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€
    Hmm. Now the problem is thinking of questions I haven’t already asked in our letters. XD Okay, here we go:
    1. What is your opinion on hats? (Do you have any? What kind? Do you ever wear them?)
    2. What is your favorite number and why?
    3. What are three of your favorite classic, non-modern books?
    4. What is your favorite type of food not including American? (Mexican, Chinese, Indian, etc.)
    5. What was your favorite story or book when you were little?
    There we go! I don’t THINK I’ve asked those in my letters, but maybe? Heh heh, anyway. I can’t wait to read your answers!

    Like

      • πŸ˜€
        I’m actually not sure…I should probably do it today or at the end of this week. I have so many posts though, it’s going to be hard to decide! XD
        (also…Carmen’s letter came today! That was so sweet of her! Calista is so excited to be her pen pal. πŸ˜€ )

        Like

      • Oh I KNOW! I have like ten posts I want to do! EEK! XD But that’s better than having no posts, right?
        Aww, great! IS IT NOT THE CUTEST THING EVER that they’re being pen pals? Calista’s postcard was *so* adorable! XD
        P. S. Sadly, I still haven’t gotten your letter. :/ I hope it didn’t get stuck in the mail somewhere! Do you remember when you sent it?

        Liked by 1 person

      • Indeed. XD
        I KNOW. And the little kid spelling is so cute. πŸ™‚
        P.S. Hmm…well, I sent you that email since you were active so you’d see it sooner, but I was definitely planning on sending it that day. Unfortunately, I had another delay because I had another delay because I had to make/get a new birthday present. But I sent it Thursday, and it usually takes 3-4 days, so it should get there today or tomorrow.

        Like

      • YES. YES IT IS. Heh heh, Carmen is so excited to be Calista’s pen pal too, and she requested that I tell you to ask Calista if she could write her a letter soon. XD πŸ˜›

        Liked by 1 person

      • Oh, woops! I forgot to reply to the P. S. … Anyway, oh PHEW! I thought you sent it, like, on Monday or something, but if you sent it Thursday then it hasn’t been that long at all. Okay, thanks! πŸ˜€

        Liked by 1 person

  13. *squeals again* Oh Grace, 200+ followers! That’s so exciting! *a bunch of excited hugs* As for questions, LET’S SEE HERE. >:D *rubs hands evilly*

    1. At the end of your life, what will you have wanted to accomplish?
    2. You’re stuck on an abandoned island for who knows how long and can only listen to one song the entire time. What song do you choose?
    3. DUN DUN DUN. IT’S THE RAPTURE. You’re having your last meal before you Jesus takes you home. What’s the last thing you want to eat on planet earth?
    4. Would you care to share the most embarrassing moment of your life? Well, maybe you wouldn’t, but this IS Q&A, so… >:D
    5. What’s the funniest thing you’ve ever seen?
    6. Be honest, now. Has there ever, ever, under aaaany circumstances–ever–been a book or movie that ALMOST made you cry? πŸ˜‰
    7. What is your favorite app?

    Ooh, you had an awesome April! And May is going to be even bettah! Here’s to a very productive May. πŸ’ͺ

    I also read your poems on your poem page–I was in the middle of writing a comment on it somewhere, but either that computer burst into flames or I refreshed my browser and lost the comment. You know, one of the two. *shrugs* Anyway, I LOVED them! You’re such a good poet, and I hope you know it. XD XD XD See… what… I… did… there… ahem. Do ignore me. XD

    Madi

    Liked by 1 person

Talk to Me!

