NaPoWriMo 2017 Recap

I have succeeded in completing my first year of NaPoWriMo.

Image result for let the games begin gif

Thank you, thank you. *bows*

Hello, and welcome to my first-ever recap of NaPoWriMo! πŸ˜€ This year, for Camp NaNoWriMo, I decided to take the challenge of writing poetry and practicing my skills as a poet. And watch you campers all suffer, of course.

In today’s post, I’ll be sharing how my NaPo experience went, my thoughts and struggles, and my poems, as well as lots of photos and gifs.

Let’s begin!

napo-recap-2k17

pinkwatercolor.jpg

expectations

What were my expectations going into NaPoWriMo?
I expected a chill, stress-free environment, where I would be able to easily write a poem every day and be able to really craft it and shape it into what I wanted it to be. 😊

*malicious laughter*

pinkwatercolor.jpg

favorite poem?

I have a couple:

Drowning

i’m drowning
no way up
no way out
walls closing in
from all directions.
how do I escape?
where do I look?
who will save me?
i’ve fallen so deep
it seems i’ll
never make it back
i try to have faith
to trust in Him
but i’m scared
afraid of failing
afraid of drowning
afraid of there being
no way out.

In Between

I am stuck
In a world in between
Imagination and
Reality.
Half of me is holding fast to the real world
While the other is running wild and free.
And I can’t help but wonder
Which world is right
For me.

pinkwatercolor.jpg

least favorite poem?

I have quite a few:

Untitled

Why do we feel that
We must police this world
Without first
Examining ourselves?

Untitled

Don’t ever forget
That the future of our world
Is in our control.

The Beach

Soft, slippery sand,
Burning the bottoms of feet.
The crash of salty waves.
Shrieks of delighted children,
Running through the surf.
Gulls shrieking and diving for food.
Parents tanning on beach towels.
Coolers and pool chairs set up.
Castles carved from sand.
Balls be tossed by parents.
Surfers and swimmers.
Imaginations running free.

pinkwatercolor.jpg
easiest poem?

This one was easy and just kinda flowed out of me. XD

The Key

There’s a story
Locked inside me
Waiting to be set free
The trouble is
That I have managed
To misplace the key.

pinkwatercolor.jpg

hardest poem?

This one was really hard, because I was writing during a car trip, and I had to figure out how to make each line rhyme at the end. kill me now.

At the Zoo

animals behind bars and glass
scents of cooking oil, sunscreen, and popcorn waft through the air
chirps, shouts, cries and clanks reach my ears

gobbling candy while it lasts
gazing through the cages at lions, monkeys, and bears
little children’s eyes are bright as the point and peer

running along the trails and paths
animals covered in scales, spikes and hair
visiting animals from everywhere

pinkwatercolor.jpg

overall thoughts/reality

So how did NaPo go?
NaPo went pretty well! I must admit, it wasn’t really what I expected. It was much harder to figure out what to write about when I didn’t like the prompts, and I kinda put off writing some of my poems. I also had to double up some days, which was something I really didn’t want to do.

pinkwatercolor.jpg

will i be doing napo again?

Of course! I had a blast with NaPo and am looking forward to growing as a poet and stretching myself past my writerly limits. πŸ™‚

talk-to-me

Did you participate in NaPo? How did it go for you?
Did you enjoy this post? Which poem of mine was your favorite?

signoff

 

 

49 thoughts on “NaPoWriMo 2017 Recap

  1. I love the poem “Drowning”! It’s just something that’s my reading/writing style. At the Zoo definitely seems like the hardest — I’m a FAILURE at rhyming! NaPo went pretty well for me, except I forgot to write poems for three of the days. *cries* I started early in March, though, if that counts??? πŸ˜›

    Liked by 1 person

  2. ooh, I love these! I haven’t done NaPo before and don’t really plan to, since I would rather work on a long-term project, but it was really cool to see your poems! my favorite would have to be the Key, I think. great post, my fren! πŸ˜„

    Liked by 1 person

  3. My favorite poems were the reality and the story one. they were really good! πŸ˜€
    Most crazily, ~Olive

    Like

  4. I’m glad you liked NaPoWriMo, I recently started liking poetry and unfortunately I wasn’t able to enter in this years NaPoWriMo, but it’s fun to write poetry. And I really liked the poems that you said that weren’t your favorite; I just thought they were still very good.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I really enjoyed this post! Must admit that’s how NaPo went for me too. I had a few hard times, days in which I woke up at midnight to keep myself on track and days in which the words just blurted themselves out. Even though I missed two days by lack of inspiration, NaPo went great and I’m definitely going to do it again. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  6. cool! I liked reality, and the key. they were definetly my favorites. πŸ™‚ I wrote about 6000 more words for my story, I’m so excited to write more! if only I can actually WRITE write it, not just in my head…. *sighs*
    Most crazily, ~Olive

    Like

Talk to Me!

