The Goodreads Tag // In Which I Get to Ramble about BOOKS

I love books.
I love talking.
So what could be better than talking about books?

The lovely Hannah @ The World Is Quiet Here tagged me for The Goodreads Tag! And what could be better than talking about books? I mean, seriously.
So let’s begin! 😀

goodreads-tag

What was the last book you marked as ‘Read’?

10507293

The Selection by Kiera Cass. This book was pretty good – I haven’t read much YA and decided to try it because my mom used to know the author. It was okay…not my favorite, and there were some make-out scenes. 😒 🙄 🤢 I don’t plan on reading the rest of the series. 😦

What are you currently reading?

15937108           433533

Counting by 7s by Holly Goldberg Sloan and Rilla of Ingleside by L.M. Montgomery. I haven’t read RoI in several days, but I’m almost finished with Counting by 7s and am enjoying it! 😀 Willow is a great character, though I’ll definitely be doing a review of my thoughts. Even though reviewing books is actually super hard. 😄

What was the last book you marked as ‘To Read’?

13058266

(other than Counting by 7sWordsmithy, by Douglas Wilson. A contributor to the Young Writer’s Workshop recommended it, and I added it right away. The cover is super boring, but from what Jaquelle (the contributor) said, it has some great insight. 🙂

Do you use the star system?

Usually I’ll give my book a quick rating, but I don’t have the time to really think super hard about it and give in-depth reviews. :\

Are you doing the 2017 Reading Challenge?

Yep! My current goal is 75, but I’m thinking of switching it to 100…I’ve read nearly 40 books and it’s only May. 🙂
At the beginning of last school year, I also took on the challenge of reading all of the Newbery winners. I’ve read about one-third of the books so far, and am hoping to finish the rest during the summer. *nervous laughter*

Do you have a wishlist?

I’m usually not one for buying books…my bookshelf isn’t huge, and I don’t want to buy a book that I won’t like. But I would like The Giver (maybe the quartet?), the Out of Time series by Nadine Brandes, and some writing books.

Who are your favorite authors?

GAH I HATE THIS QUESTION.
I’m not an author kind of person…I just read the book and it’s a yay or nay. ( 😄 ) Most times I never really pay attention to the author’s name, unless I look up the author on Goodreads or something.
But the ones I can think of are:

  • Shannon Messenger
  • Lisa McMann
  • Gail Carson Levine
  • L.M. Montgomery
  • Jane Austen

I don’t even know from there. 😂

Have you joined any groups?

Nope! I actually deleted my old Goodreads account and made a new, personal one, which I haven’t shared with anyone yet. 😮

How many Goodreads Shelves do you have?

10 – To Read; Currently Reading; Read; (read in) 2013-15; (read in) 2016; (read in) 2017; Favorites; For School; Newbery Winners – To Read; Newbery Winners – Read.

I Tag:

talk-to-me

Did you guys enjoy this post?
Do you like talking about books as much as I do?

signoff

57 thoughts on “The Goodreads Tag // In Which I Get to Ramble about BOOKS

  1. Ooh! I came across ‘Counting by 7’s’ in the Library, but haven’t got to actually reading it yet lol. Is it good? Great answers btw!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Ooh, cool post! I don’t have Goodreads because SERIOUSLY. I’M ALREADY SO DISTRACTED. XDD I haven’t been keeping up with the new YA releases (mostly since so many of them are kind of inappropriate and let’s just say . . . interesting lol), so I feel like there’s no point anyway. BUT! Great post, anyway. I thought the Selection was mehh . . . it was a bit — dare I say — boring and uninteresting to me?? But maybe it’s just me. XDD

    ALSO GRACE HOW COULD YOU. IT’S ONE R, MY FREN. ONE R. *points* *sobs* *dies* Lolll, jkjk. XDD

    –sarah

    Liked by 1 person

  3. YAYAYAY I WAS TAGGED! 😄 I’m making a GR account after my exams + school end (NEXT! WEEK!) so I won’t get distracted and procrastinate in it. 😄 This would be a great way to announce it though! And I love how the first four nominees’ names all start with M. 😛

    First of all, The Selection (it’s so cool your mom knew the author!!!) used to be a favorite of mine, buuuuuuut now it’s not. 😄 Second, I thought Counting By 7’s was okay when I read it, but thinking back on it, I think it was better than I gave credit. 😄 I really want to read writing books too! I think I just really like learning about other writers’ processes lol. And omggggg 40 BOOKS??? I wish. *cries* *glares* You homeschoolers. 😄

    Liked by 1 person

    • WAHOO! 😀 Oh dang it…I just realized that you don’t have Goodreads. *facepalm* 😄
      Haha, yup. 😛
      Yeah, it was okay. I liked the story idea and everything but thought it was a little too graphic and just kinda “wandering around the castle” for me. Counting by 7s is definitely good, but it has a few annoying things, which of course calls for an in-depth review on my part. 😄
      Yes indeed! I need to read more, actually. But they’re just so long and there’s so much text and my brain’s like NOOOO. 😄
      Haha! 😄 😄 😄

      Liked by 1 person

  4. DIdnsomeone say books?! Ahh, i love books!!! I think i tire my friends out when they get me started. 😄 The Selection…yeah, i never finished it. I didnt like it that much and the make-out scenes were a bit overboard. Coutning by 7’s sounds interesting though! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  5. YAYAYAYAY IT’S A BOOK POST! 😄 This was fun to read, Grace! Goodreads sounds really interesting, but I don’t know if I’d keep up with it or not… Ooh, maybe I’ll check out Counting by Sevens. 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  6. ahh, you should totally read more YA. Out of all Fabolous YA, you chose the selection??? Noon, there are just so many better books out there…! There’s like Six Of Crows and OMG The Kite Runner, that’s awesome. Why i love YA, is because it’s so diverse and beautiful whereas I don’t think MG novels portray different life problems, though historical fiction and classics are also great. But again, they don’t connect with me and represent mental illnesses, self-esteem, amongst other topics. Out of interest, what genre do you usually read.I read counting by sevens and actually didn’t like it too much I’m not too sure why?? Thanks for the tag!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Awesome post, Grace! Lucky you! The opportunity to talk about books! 😁☺ I enjoyed reading this so much. But not as much as you enjoyed writing it, of course! Ha ha. I don’t actually have Goodreads, but this looks like a really cool tag.

    *waves cheerio*

    Gracie

    Liked by 1 person

Talk to Me!

